DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Historic win for Castletroy College in Schools Senior Cup

27th February 2008 By Munster Rugby

Castletroy College will compete in their first ever Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup Final on St. Patrick’s Day, with a gutsy 23-22 win over defending champions Presentation Brothers College on Wednesday at Tom Clifford Park.

2007/8 Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup

Castletroy College 23-22 Presentation Brothers College

Castletroy led at the break, after setting the tone with some excellent defensive organisation, great clearing kicks from their outhalf Domhnaill Byrne and full back Cormac Joyce Power, not to mention plenty of determination putting them 10-3 ahead at the break. It was however the defending champions who put the first points on the board after an early break by centre Conor Desmond brought them within the Castletroy 22, and eventually led to a penalty being awarded which outhalf Cormac O’Flynn converted after seven minutes. After 13 minutes PBC were forced to reshuffle after O’Flynn was sent to the bin, allowing Castletroy’s Darragh Frawley to level the score with a penalty kick. PBC responded almost immediately with a piercing break from centre Kevin Kidney who sold a dummy to take him within 5 metres of the line. Unfortunately the offload didn’t go to hand and Castletroy managed to avert the danger. Castletroy’s scrum half Peter Murray was one of their heroes on the day, and imposed himself on the game throughout with his terrific speed and unpredictability proving difficult for PBC to manage. Castletroy claimed the first try of the day after 22 minutes, after a break by winger Colm Dillon and his subsequent offload to centre Diarmuid McCarthy who crossed the line saw Castletroy take the lead. The conversion by Frawley gave the Limerick side a 10-3 lead. Despite PBC coming close to the line on numerous occasions as the clock counted down to half time, Castletroy’s defence held firm, and hung onto a 10-3 lead at the break.

The tide turned somewhat early in the second half with Castletroy’s Darragh Bonfil sent to the sin bin, which proved costly for Castletroy. While Castletroy were reduced to 14 men, PBC took advantage and scored two tries- the first from centre Conor Desmond after sustained pressure and the second a dazzling solo effort that started 60 metres out from winger Johnny McCarthy who dodged numerous tackles to score. With both tries converted by O’Flynn, PBC took a 17-10 lead. Castletroy responded immediately, bringing play within 5 metres of the PBC line. While the try eluded them, Frawley was on target with a penalty after 53 minutes to reduce the deficit to 17-13 in PBC’s favour. Castletroy missed an opportunity to take the lead after 62 minutes with Frawley’s effort going just right of the posts, however they made no mistake a minute later with a try from winger Darren Moroney after a quick tap penalty. Despite missing the conversion, Castletroy took an 18-17 lead with 7 minutes to go. Not to be outdone, and reluctant to relinquish their title hopes, PBC’s second row Joe Coyne stormed over for a try 5 minutes later to put PBC 22-18 ahead. It looked like PBC’s campaign was still on track until the 73rd minute when Castletroy’s centre Diarmuid McCarthy ran in blistering try from 45 metres, giving the Limerick side a one point lead as only minutes remained on the clock. Despite their best efforts, another PBC score wasn’t forthcoming and Castletroy held on for an historic win.

Their opponents in the final will not be known until Sunday afternoon, when Glenstal Abbey School play Christian Brothers College in Clanwilliam.

Castletroy College
15. Cormac Joyce Power, 14. Darren Moroney, 13. Kieran Clancy, 12. Diarmuid McCarthy, 11. Colm Dillon, 10. Domhnaill Byrne, 9. Peter Murray, 1. Cedric Laffan, 2. Padraic Hogan, 3. Stephen Murphy, 4. Paul Dooley (Captain), 5. Darragh Frawley, 6. Kevin Doyle, 7. Darragh Bonfil, 8. Eoin Sweeney
Replacements: David Quinlan for Laffan, Darragh Hannan for Doyle, Mark Hanrahan for Bonfil

Presentation Brothers College
15. Gavin Nugent, 14. Johnny McCarthy, 13. Kevin Kidney, 12. Conor Desmond, 11. Simon Zebo, 10. Cormac O’Flynn, 9. David O’Driscoll, 1. Bryan Cagney, 2. Peter Kelleher, 3. Patrick O’Donovan, 4. Dan Lucey, 5. Joe Coyne, 6. Conail Murphy, 7. Brian O’Hara, 8. Peter O’Mahony (Captain)
Replacements: Ian Mullarkey for Cagney, Paul Ryan for O’Mahony, Rory O’Donovan for Lucey (b/s), Eoin Murphy for Kidney

Referee: Olan Trevor (MAR)
Touch Judge 1: John Lacey (MAR)
Touch Judge 2: Gerry Clifford (MAR)
Fourth Official: Brian White (MAR)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The teams have been named for this Friday’s clash between a Munster Development side and the Spain U20s at UL (2.30pm). The game will be...