DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

First Ever Barbarians Women’s Squad Named

1st November 2017 By The Editor

First Ever Barbarians Women’s Squad Named

Legends Game, Malone RFC, Belfast 25/8/2017 Ireland vs England Ireland's Fiona Coghlan Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

The Barbarians will deploy a side packed with international experience for their first-ever women’s fixture against Munster at Thomond Park on Friday, November 10 (4.45pm).

A 23-strong squad with 1,019 international caps has been named by Head Coach Giselle Mather ahead of the match .

The side is a cosmopolitan one with seven different nations represented. Veteran New Zealand scrum half Emma Jensen flies in from Auckland to take part while Canada provide Kelly Russell and Amanda Thornborough.

There are seven players from Ireland and four from the Old Belvedere club in Ailis Egan, Marie Riley, Jackie Shiels and Nora Stapleton

Fiona Coghlan is from UL Bohemians and Tania Rosser from Blackrock while Galwegians flanker Edel McMahon will be the squad’s uncapped player – a Barbarians’ tradition.

“It’s a huge honour for the esteemed and experienced athletes that have been selected to wear the Barbarians shirt for the first time,” said Mather.

“They represent both the journey of the development of women’s rugby and on November 10 will be taking a big step into the future of the game.

“Everyone involved in the management of the team is looking forward to making this a truly memorable Barbarians experience for the players and paving the way for things to come.”

Admission to the Barbarians v Tonga match (7.30pm) also includes admission to the women’s match. Tickets are available from €15 (adults) from here.

Barbarians v Munster Women


Tracy Balmer (Worcester & Scotland) 43 caps

Susie Brown (Richmond & Scotland) 62

Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians & Ireland) 85

Lenaige Corson (Stade Rennais & France) 24

Claire Cripps (Wasps & England) 43

Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere & Ireland) 46

Becky Essex (Richmond & England) 57

Amy Garnett (Saracens & England 100

Edel McMahon (Galwegians) 0

Marie Riley (Old Belvedere & Ireland) 54

Kelly Russell (Toronto Nomads & Canada) 53

Rachel Taylor (Caernarfon & Wales) 67


Emma Jensen (College Rifles & New Zealand 49)

Elen Evans (Caernarfon & Wales) 73

Megan Goddard (Gloucester-Hartpury & England) 5

Camille Grassineau (Stade Francais & France) 18

Vicki Jackson (Wasps & England) 2

Christelle LeDuff (SO Villonguet & France) 70

Tania Rosser (Blackrock & Ireland) 58

Georgina Roberts (Darlington MP Sharks & England) 15

Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere & Ireland) 22

Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere & Ireland) 50

Amanda Thornborough (Westshore & Canada) 23

Head Coach: Giselle Mather

Assistant coach: Lisa Burgess

Team manager: Fiona Stockley


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are currently inviting applications for the role of County Waterford Rugby Participation Officer. The post holder will work in partnership with local schools...