DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

14 Munster Players Named In Clovers Squad

2nd February 2024 By The Editor

14 Munster Players Named In Clovers Squad

The Clovers and Wolfhounds match day squads have been named for the fifth round of the Celtic Challenge.

The Wolfhounds are sitting top of the table, with four wins from four, while the Clovers are in third place as we head into round five of the tournament this weekend.

The Wolfhouds are at home to Welsh side Gwalia Lightning at 2.30 on Saturday in Energia Park.

Meanwhile, Denis Fogarty’s Clovers side are in Scotland at the Hive Stadium, to take on Edinburgh Rugby on Saturday (kick off 12.30pm).

Both matches will be streamed live for free on RugbyPass TV.

Fogarty has made six changes to his starting squad from their fourth round tie with Brython Thunder.

Up front Róisín Ormond starts at tighthead and Ruth Campbell comes back into the second row. In the backrow Brianna Heylmann joins Jane Clohessy, with Shannon Touhey starting at number 8.

There are two changes to the back line with Ailsa Hughes starting at scrum half and Chisom Ugweuru coming in on the wing.

Commenting on the squad announcement, Fogarty said, “We had our first away trip last weekend and I was very impressed with the team performance. Preparations are continuing as we will once again travel to Scotland this Saturday.”

“With the race for the play-offs heating up, it’s set to be another big Celtic Challenge clash. We’re excited and are relishing the challenge for what will be a tough game against a strong Edinburgh Rugby side in the Hive Stadium.”

Three Changes For Wolfhounds

Neil Alcorn has made three changes to the Wolfhounds starting squad, with Maebh Clenaghan coming in at hooker, Claire Boles at blindside and Jade Gaffney starts at scrum half.

Forwards India Daly, Keelin Brady and Grace Moore are on the bench and are joined by backs, Katie Whelan and Leah Tarpey.

Speaking on the team announcement, Alcorn added, “We really enjoyed our game last weekend in Kingspan Stadium and playing in front of our home crowd, and are looking forward to another run out in Energia Park this Saturday”.

“We want to keep driving on with our performances each week ahead of the play-off rounds. We are looking forward to playing at home once again against Gwalia Lightning for what should be another exciting game in the Celtic Challenge.”

Both of this weekend’s games are available to stream for free on RugbyPass TV.

Clovers Team

15. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)
14. Chisom Ugweuru (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
13. Aoife Corey (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
12. Kayla Waldron (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
11. Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
10. Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
1. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
2. Beth Buttimer (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
3. Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
4. Ruth Campbell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
5. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster) (Captain)
6. Jane Clohessy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
7. Brianna Heylmann (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
8. Shannon Touhey (Tullamore RFC/Connacht)


16. Aoife Fleming (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
17. Grainne Burke (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
18. Roisin Maher (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
19. Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
20. Sarah McCormack (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
21. Muirne Wall (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
22. Michelle O’Driscoll (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
23. Amy Larn (MU Barnhall RFC/Leinster)

Wolfhounds Team

15. Ava Ryder (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
14. Katie Corrigan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
13. Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
12. Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
11. Niamh Marley (Dungannon RFC/Cooke RFC/Ulster)
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
9. Jade Gaffney (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

1. Aoife Moore (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
2. Meabh Clenaghan (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
3. Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen RFC/Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
4. Eimear Corri (Blackrock Rugby/Leinster)
5. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
6. Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
7. Molly Boyne (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) (Captain)
8. Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)


16. India Daley (Blackrock College RFC/Ulster)
17. Megan Collis (Railway Union/Leinster)
18. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
19. Keelin Brady (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
20. Grace Moore (Saracens)
21. Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
22. Abby Moyles (Blackrock RFC/Ulster)
23. Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Standings after Round Four

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU