DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

5 Munster Players In Ireland U20s Squad For Cork Clash

7th February 2024 By The Editor

Shannon and Ardscoil Rís man Luke Murphy starts for the Ireland U20s.

Shannon and Ardscoil Rís man Luke Murphy starts for the Ireland U20s. Inpho

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his matchday squad for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Italy at Virgin Media Park (7.15pm).

Match tickets are available here.

Five Munster players are included in the squad with captain Evan O’Connell, Ben O’Connor and Luke Murphy all starting. Danny Sheahan and Seán Edogbo are included among the replacements.

Murphy, a Shannon RFC man and former Ardscoil Rís student, makes his first start for the Ireland U20s at no.8.

Edogbo is in line for his Ireland U20s debut having come up through the ranks at Cobh Pirates RFC and UCC, he is the brother of Munster Academy lock Edwin.

Ireland opened their 2024 Championship with an impressive bonus point win in France last weekend.

Richie Murphy has named an unchanged backline for the visit of Italy as Ben O’Connor, Finn Treacy and Hugo McLaughlin are named in the back three, with Hugh Gavin and Wilhelm de Klerk continuing in midfield. Jack Murphy and Oliver Coffey are the half-back pairing.

In the pack, Alex Usanov, Stephen Smyth and Jacob Boyd are the starting front row, with Alan Spicer once again packing down alongside captain Evan O’Connell in the engine room. Joe Hopes is at blindside flanker, Bryn Ward at openside and Luke Murphy at number eight.

Murphy has strong options among the replacements bench as Danny Sheahan, Ben Howard, Patreece Bell, Billy Corrigan and Sean Edogbo provide the reinforcements up front, with backs Tadhg Brophy, Sean Naughton and Ethan Graham completing the 23.

Friday night’s match is live on Virgin Media Two.

Ireland U20s

15. Ben O’Connor (UCC RFC/Munster)
14. Finn Treacy (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
13. Wilhelm de Klerk (UCD RFC/Leinster)
12. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
11. Hugo McLaughlin (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
10. Jack Murphy (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
9. Oliver Coffey (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

1. Alex Usanov (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
2. Stephen Smyth (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
3. Jacob Boyd (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
4. Alan Spicer (UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)(captain)
6. Joe Hopes (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
7. Bryn Ward (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
8. Luke Murphy (Shannon RFC/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
17. Ben Howard (Terenure College RFC/Leinster)
18. Patreece Bell (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
19. Billy Corrigan (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
20. Seán Edogbo (UCC RFC/Munster)
21. Tadhg Brophy (Naas RFC/Leinster)
22. Sean Naughton (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
23. Ethan Graham (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU