DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Development Team Named For Ulster Clash

21st December 2023 By The Editor

Munster Development Team Named For Ulster Clash

Gordon Wood captains Munster Development for their match against Ulster Development on Friday. Photo Credit: Inpho

A Munster Development side will face Ulster Development in Newforge at 3.30pm tomorrow (Friday).

Head Coach Tommy O’Donnell has named a 24-man squad for the clash with Academy prop George Hadden included.

Hadden, who plays his AIL rugby with Garryowen, starts at loosehead where he will be joined by UCC’s Adam Wrona and Shannon’s Emmet Calvey in the front-row. Wrona and Calvey played for CBC and Ardscoil Rís in last season’s Pinergy Munster Schools Boys Senior Cup.

Éanna McCarthy and Conor Ryan form the second-row partnership. McCarthy plays his club rugby with UCC while he also lined out with CBC last season. Ryan also plays for UCC and came up through the age-grade ranks with Clonakilty RFC.

In the back-row, twins Kamil and David Nowak start at blindside and openside respectively. Both play their club rugby with Cork Constitution and played their schools rugby with CBC while UCC’s Sean Edogbo, younger brother of Munster Academy second-row Edwin, starts at number eight. Edogbo came up through the ranks with Cobh Pirates RFC.

UL Bohemian’s Jake O’Riordan starts at scrum-half where he is joined by Tom Wood at out-half. O’Riordan played his schools rugby with St Munchin’s while Tom Wood is currently playing for the Limerick school in the Munster Schools Boys Senior Cup.

The centre partnership sees Tom’s brother Gordon, who captains the side, line out at inside centre where he is joined by Harry Long at 13. Wood currently plays for Garryowen while Long plays his AIL rugby with Shannon. Wood and Long played their schools rugby with St Munchin’s College and Ardscoil Rís.

The back-three is made of Shannon’s Josh Costello, UCC’s Sean Condon and Old Crescent’s Jed O’Dwyer. Costello, Condon and O’Dwyer played their schools rugby with St Munchin’s, PBC and Crescent College respectively.

Munster Development

15. Jed O’Dwyer (Old Crescent RFC)

14. Sean Condon (UCC RFC)

13. Harry Long (Shannon RFC)

12. Gordon Wood (Garryowen FC) (C)

11. Josh Costello (Shannon RFC)

10. Tom Wood (St Munchin’s College)

9. Jake O’Riordan (UL Bohemian RFC)

1. George Hadden (Garryowen FC)

2. Adam Wrona (UCC RFC)

3. Emmet Calvey (Shannon RFC)

4. Éanna McCarthy (UCC RFC)

5. Conor Ryan (UCC RFC)

6. Kamil Nowak (Cork Constitution FC)

7. David Nowak (Cork Constitution FC)

8. Sean Edogbo (UCC RFC)

Replacements from: Darragh O’Connell (Muskerry RFC), Danny Sheahan (Cork Constitution FC), Matt Burke (Shannon RFC), Oisín Toland (Old Crescent RFC), Jacob Sheahan (UCC RFC), Luke Murphy (Shannon RFC), Kyle Read (Garryowen FC), Eoghan Smyth (Midleton RFC), Aaron Quirke (UCC RFC).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster men’s squad return to the HPC next week to begin their pre-season training programme ahead of the 2024/25 campaign. Two games have been...