DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland U20s Named For World Championship Semi-Final

7th July 2023 By The Editor

Ruadhán Quinn starts for the Ireland U20s.

Ruadhán Quinn starts for the Ireland U20s. Inpho

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Ireland U20 Match Day Squad for Sunday’s World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final against South Africa in Cape Town (3.30pm Irish time).

Gus McCarthy returns to the starting XV to captain Ireland as Murphy’s side go head-to-head with the host nation in a last four showdown at Athlone Stadium (Live on Virgin Media Two in Ireland).

Ruadhán Quinn and Brian Gleeson start in the back-row with Danny Sheahan, George Hadden and Evan O’Connell among the replacements.

Henry McErlean, Andrew Osborne and James Nicholson make up the Ireland back three, with Hugh Gavin and John Devine named in midfield. In the half backs, Sam Prendergast and Fintan Gunne return to the side to resume their partnership.

Up front, Paddy McCarthy, skipper McCarthy and Ronan Foxe return to the pack, with Charlie Irvine partnering Conor O’Tighearnaigh in the engine room. In the back row, Diarmuid Mangan is at blindside flanker, Ruadhan Quinn at openside and Brian Gleeson wears the number eight jersey.

Murphy has a strong replacements bench to choose from with Danny Sheahan, Man of the Match in Tuesday’s win over Fiji, George Hadden, Fiachna Barrett, Evan O’Connell and Dan Barron providing the forward options, while Oscar Cawley, Matthew Lynch and Sam Berman complete the Ireland 23.

Sunday’s match is live on Virgin Media Two in Republic of Ireland and on World Rugby platforms where there is no local broadcaster.

Ireland U20s

15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. Andrew Osborne (Naas/Leinster)
13. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure College RFC/Leinster)

1. Paddy McCarthy (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Ronan Foxe (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University/Ulster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
6. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
7. Ruadhan Quinn (Old Crescent RFC/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Hadden (Clontarf/Munster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
20. Dan Barron (Dublin University/Leinster)
21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster)
22. Matthew Lynch (Dublin University/Leinster)
23. Sam Berman (Dublin University/Leinster)

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU