DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Keith Earls to Captain Ireland against Maori All Blacks

11th July 2022 By The Editor

Keith Earls to Captain Ireland against Maori All Blacks

Keith Earls during the training Inpho

Andy Farrell has announced the Ireland side that will play against the Māori All Blacks in the Sky Stadium in Wellington on Tuesday (Kick-off 7.05pm NZ time/8.05am Irish time).

Keith Earls will captain Ireland for the first time as Ireland seek to square the Series against the Māori All Blacks having lost the first fixture in Hamilton.

Michael Lowry is introduced at fullback with Jimmy O’Brien switching to the left wing and Jordan Larmour is on the right.

Craig Casey and Ciaran Frawley are retained at half-back while Stuart McCloskey comes into partner Earls in the midfield.

The front row consists of Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Tom O’Toole with Joe McCarthy and Kieran Treadwell named at lock.

The backrow from the first game against the Māori is retained with Cian Prendergast at 6, Nick Timoney at 7 and Gavin Coombes at No.8.

The replacements include Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Ryan Baird, Jack Conan, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery and Mack Hansen.

The game will be televised live by SKY Sports at 8.05am Irish time.

Ireland Team

15. Michael Lowry (Banbridge/Ulster) 1 cap

14. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 30 caps

13. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) (capt) 97 caps

12. Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/Ulster) 6 caps

11. Jimmy O’Brien (Naas/Leinster)

10. Ciaran Frawley (Skerries/Leinster)

9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) 5 caps

1. Jeremy Loughman (Garryowen/Munster)

2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 20 caps

3. Tom O’Toole (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 2 caps

4. Joe McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster)

5. Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) 7 caps

6. Cian Prendergast (Connacht)

7. Nick Timoney (Banbridge/Ulster) 2 caps

8. Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/Munster) 2 caps


16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 27 caps

17. Ed Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps

18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 24 caps

19. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster) 8 caps

20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 29 caps

21. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 98 caps

22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 34 caps

23. Mack Hansen (Connacht) 5 caps

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU