DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Jack O’Donoghue In Running For Top European Award

1st February 2022 By The Editor

Jack O’Donoghue with the Player of the Match following Munster

Jack O’Donoghue with the Player of the Match following Munster's win over Wasps at Thomond Park. Inpho

Munster’s Jack O’Donoghue is one of 15 players in the running to capture one of the game’s most prestigious individual accolades following the announcement of the longlist of nominees for the 2022 EPCR European Player of the Year award.

O’Donoghue, who became the youngest Munster player to reach the 150-cap landmark for the province against Wasps last month, has scored two tries in three Champions Cup games so far this season.

He was also named Player of the Match in the province’s 45-7 victory over Wasps at Thomond Park.

Munster won all four of their Pool games in the Champions Cup to earn a round of 16 place and will face Exeter Chiefs over two legs in April.

The winner of the award, which is in its 12th season, will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy in memory of the former Munster Rugby Head Coach and captain.

Voting is now open here and fans will be in the running to win a signed ball and a signed jersey courtesy of one of the Heineken Champions Cup finalist clubs.

The list will be reduced to five players in May, following the Heineken Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup semi-finals, by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judging panel, and players who have not been included in the initial longlist, but who make a significant impact during the knockout stages, may be considered for the shortlist.

The voting will then re-open and the winner of the 2022 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final in Marseille on Saturday, 28 May.

See the full list of 15 nominees following the Pool stages below.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2022 nominees

Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)

Alex DOMBRANDT (Harlequins)

Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)

Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)

Gaël FICKOU (Racing 92)

George FORD (Leicester Tigers)

Michael LOWRY (Ulster Rugby)

Jimmy O’BRIEN (Leinster Rugby)

Jack O’DONOGHUE (Munster Rugby)

Damian PENAUD (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

Semi RADRADRA (Bristol Bears)

Sam SIMMONDS (Exeter Chiefs)

Marcus SMITH (Harlequins)

Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby)

Cameron WOKI (Union Bordeaux-Bègles)

Judging Panel

Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Lee McKenzie (Channel 4), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions)

Roll of Honour

2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain) ; 2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019: Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for Sunday’s Champions Cup opener against Top 14 leaders Toulouse at Thomond Park (3.15pm). A bumper crowd will attend...