DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Teams Named | Munster Development v Ireland U20s

29th December 2021 By The Editor

Munster Development

Tony Butler in action for Munster Development. INPHO/Ryan Byrne

The teams have been named for the clash between a Munster Development side and the Ireland U20s at Musgrave Park on Thursday (2.30pm).

UCC back row forward Jack Kelleher will captain the Munster Development side with three Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players in the starting line-up – Conor Phillips, Tony Butler and Daniel Okeke.

With the Ireland U20s commencing their Six Nations preparations before Christmas out half Butler joined his Garryowen colleague Dylan Murphy, who starts at hooker, and centre Darragh French (UCC) when lining out against Italy in a warm-up encounter.

Five players from the Ireland U19s training panel are also included in the squad – Ihechi Oji (CC Roscrea), Jack Oliver (Garryowen), Diarmuid Dennehy (Shannon/Bruff), Ruadhann Quinn (Crescent College) and Henry Buttimer (Rockwell).

Phillips, who most recently lined out with his club Young Munster and the Ireland 7s, starts at fullback and is flanked by wingers Oji and George Coomber (UCC).

It’s a UCC centre pairing with Daniel Squires joining French in midfield with Young Munster’s Adam Maher starting inside Butler at half back.

In the front row Murphy is propped up by Shannon’s Kieran Ryan and fellow Garryowen-man Darragh McCarthy.

Cork Con’s John Forde and Cashel’s Fearghail O’Donoghue pack down in the second row with Kelleher, UCC’s Jack O’Sullivan and Okeke completing the back row.

Included in the replacements are Senior player James French and Academy player Mark Donnelly.

PBC product Patrick Campbell and Ennis RFC duo Ethan Coughlan and Conor Moloney all start for the Ireland U20s. The trio all made their Munster debuts in the Champions Cup this month.

See full line-ups below.

Munster Development: Conor Phillips (Young Munster); Ihechi Oji (CC Roscrea), Darragh French (UCC), Daniel Squires (UCC), George Coomber (UCC); Tony Butler (Garryowen), Adam Maher (Young Munster); Kieran Ryan (Shannon), Dylan Murphy (Garryowen), Darragh McCarthy (Garryowen); John Forde (Cork Con), Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel); Jack Kelleher (C) (UCC), Jack O’Sullivan (UCC), Daniel Okeke (Shannon).

Replacements From: Luke McAuliffe (Cork Con), Mark Donnelly (Garryowen), James French (UCC), Diarmuid Dennehy (Shannon/Bruff), Ruadhann Quinn (Crescent College), Jack Oliver (Garryowen), Jeff Williams (Bandon Grammar), Alan Flannery (Shannon), Henry Buttimer (Rockwell).

Ireland U20s: Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster); Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby), Fionn Gibbons (UCD RFC/Leinster), Daniel Hawkshaw (Belvedere College/Leinster), Callum O’Reilly (Dublin University FC/Leinster); Charlie Tector (Lansdowne FC/Leinster), Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster); Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster),  Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster), Rory McGuire (UCD RFC/Leinster); Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster), Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster); Conor Moloney (Young Munster RFC/Munster), Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)(Captain), James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster).

Replacements: Howard Noonan (Temple Carrig School/Leinster), Joe Mawhinney (Ballymena Academy/Ulster), JJ Hession (Lansdowne FC/Leinster), Fionn McWey (CC Roscrea/Leinster), Lorcan McLoughlin (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Michael Moloney (UCD RFC/Leinster), Ross Taylor (Armagh/Ulster), Dylan O’Grady (UCD RFC/Leinster).

Supporter Information

Please note the below information –

  • Cash only entry – Adult €10; Children/OAP €5.
  • MRSC Members/10-Year Ticket Holders – Free on presentation of Membership Card.

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster secured a bonus-point win over Connacht at Thomond Park on Saturday night to make a good start to the 10-game block of fixtures. Calvin...