DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Tadhg Beirne & Conor Murray Among Lions Replacements

21st July 2021 By The Editor

Tadhg Beirne is among the replacements for the Lions.

Tadhg Beirne is among the replacements for the Lions. Inpho

Munster men Tadhg Beirne and Conor Murray have been named among the replacements for the British & Irish Lions as they face South Africa in the first game of their three-Test series on Saturday (5pm).

Fellow Munster man Damian de Allende starts at inside centre for South Africa.

Tour captain Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales) will skipper the Lions having recovered from a dislocated shoulder sustained in the tourists 28-10 win over Japan at Murrayfield Stadium just 24 days ago.

In doing so, the Welsh lock will win his tenth-successive Test cap for the Lions in Cape Town, moving him into an illustrious list of Lions legends to have made 10 Test appearances or more, including Gareth Edwards (10), Graham Price (12), Mike Gibson (12) Dickie Jeeps (13) and Willie-John McBride (17). Jones is the first however to play 10 Tests for the famous touring side in the professional era.

The iconic Welshman will be joined in the second row by Maro Itoje (Saracens, England) who claims his fourth successive Lions Test cap.

Elsewhere, Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) and Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) make up the front row.

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England) packs down on the blind side flank to win his third Lions test appearance, having won his previous two from the bench in the second and third Tests in New Zealand in 2017. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England) is named on the open side, with Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) filling the No.8 shirt.

After impressing against the DHL Stormers last Saturday, scrum-half Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) joins No.10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) in the half back berths.

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland), who made his comeback from a hamstring injury last weekend, partners Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) in midfield.

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England) wins his fourth Lions Test cap as he takes his spot on the wing opposite Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland), with fellow Scot, Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland), rounding off the side at fullback.

The starting XV includes three Scots for the first time since the 1997 Tour to South Africa when current Lions assistant coach, Gregor Townsend, was named alongside Alan Tait and Tom Smith for the first and second Tests.

“In my four Tours as a Lions coach, this was by far the hardest Test selection I have been involved in,” said Gatland.

“We couldn’t have asked for more from the players so far; they’ve all put their hands up and made picking a starting XV incredibly difficult. In truth, we would have been happy with any number of different combinations across the 23, however, we’re very pleased with the side we’ve settled on.

“We know what we’re coming up against on Saturday. It’s going to be an arm wrestle, there’s no doubt about it. We’ll need to front up physically and be ready to go from the first whistle. When we played SA ‘A’ last week we probably took a bit too long to get into the game, something we can’t afford to do that again this weekend.

“We need to make sure we play in the right areas of the field, not give them easy territory and take our chances when they come.

“While the stands will be empty in Cape Town Stadium, we know Lions fans from across the home nations will be cheering us on back home. We’ll do our best to get the win.”

The much-anticipated clash against the reigning World Champions is the first of three Tests matches to be shown live and exclusively on Sky Sports.


15 Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland) #783

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England) #816

13 Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) #822

12 Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #824

11 Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #841

10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) #821

9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) #843

1 Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales) #842

2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) #851

3 Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #818

4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, England) #825

5 Alun Wyn Jones – captain (Ospreys, Wales) #761

6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England) #826

7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England) #853

8 Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #839


16 Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales) #829

17 Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #840

18 Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England) #814

19 Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #838

20 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland) #847

21 Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #790

22 Owen Farrell (Saracens, England) #780

23 Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) #833

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU