DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland Name Squad For Final Game Of Vodafone Summer Series

8th July 2021 By The Editor

Vodafone Summer Series 2021

Gavin Coombes and Craig Casey will both start for Ireland for the first time this Saturday. INPHO/Gary Carr

The Ireland coaching team have named the team to face the USA at the Aviva Stadium in the final fixture of the Vodafone Summer Series (7.15pm).

Gavin Coombes and Craig Casey both start for Ireland for the first time this weekend while Fineen Wycherley is in line to make his debut if sprung from the bench.

Caelan Doris switches to the blindside flank to accommodate Coombes at No.8 with the uncapped Nick Timoney at openside.

James Ryan wears the captain’s armband and is partnered in the second row by Ryan Baird.

In the front row Tom O’Toole is set to make his international debut alongside Ronan Kelleher and Dave Kilcoyne.

The half-back partnership sees Casey join provincial colleague Joey Carbery.

Stuart McCloskey retains the inside centre berth and is joined by fellow Ulsterman debutant James Hume.  Hugo Keenan starts his 13th consecutive game at fullback with Andrew Conway and the uncapped Robert Baloucoune on the wings.

The replacements include Dave Heffernan, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Will Addison and the uncapped Fineen Wycherley, Paul Boyle, Caolin Blade and Harry Byrne.

The match will be televised by RTE (ROI) Channel 4 (NI) and kicks off at 7.15pm.

Vodafone Summer Series 2021

Ireland team to play USA – 10th July 2021, Aviva Stadium

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 12 caps
14. Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) uncapped
13. James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge) uncapped
12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 5 caps
11. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 24 caps
10. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 23 caps
9. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 2 caps

1. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 44 caps
2. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 12 caps
3. Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) uncapped
4. Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 4 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 36 caps captain
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 8 caps
7. Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) uncapped
8. Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 1 cap

16. Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 5 caps
17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 5 caps
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 15 caps
19. Fineen Wycherley (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped
20. Paul Boyle (Connacht/Buccaneers) uncapped
21. Caolin Blade (Connacht/Galwegians) uncapped
22. Harry Byrne (Leinster/Lansdowne) uncapped
23. Will Addison (Ulster/Enniskillen) 4 caps

Video | Gavin Coombes’ 15 Munster Tries In 2020/21

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU