DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

O’Mahony To Captain The Lions

15th June 2017 By The Editor

O’Mahony To Captain The Lions

Peter O'Mahony ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Munster squad captain Peter O’Mahony will hope to replicate the November exploits of his provincial teammates when he leads the British and Irish Lions in Saturday’s clash with the Maori All Blacks at Rotorua International Stadium.

The first Munster-man to receive the honour since Paul O’Connell, O’Mahony becomes the fourth player of the current Tour to skipper the side, alongside Sam Warburton, Ken Owens and Alun Wyn Jones.

The backrow is joined in the starting XV by his Munster college Conor Murray for what has been billed as the ‘4th Test’.

On the appointment of the Corkman as captain, Head Coach Warren Gatland said, “Peter is a proven captain with Munster who never takes a backward step and we believe that those leadership qualities will serve us well on Saturday against a quality and determined Maori All Blacks team.”

A product of the Munster Schools pathway, from grassroots to professional rugby, the Academy graduate has been a leader every step of the way – PBC, Ireland U20, Munster, Ireland and now the Lions – commenting, “It’s a huge honour, obviously to be picked for the Lions at all is a massive honour.  To get the nod from Warren this weekend is hugely special, not just me but for all the clubs, people and family who have put effort into me.

“We want to win but first and foremost we need a performance.  Whatever comes after that is what comes.  We need to be stepping up and guys to stick your hands up.”

British & Irish Lions (v Maori All Blacks, Saturday, June 17, Rotorua International Stadium, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST)

15. Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales, #775
14. Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England, #816
13. Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, #778
12. Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England, #815
11. George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, #792
10. Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, #791
9. Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland, #790

1. Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, #787
2. Jamie George – Saracens, England, #818
3. Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland, #817
4. Maro Itoje – Saracens, England, #825
5. George Kruis – Saracens, England, #819
6. Peter O’Mahony (capt) – Munster, Ireland, #833
7. Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland, #796
8. Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, #779

16. Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, #829
17. Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, #827
18. Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England, #814
19. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland, #808
20. Sam Warburton – Cardiff Blues, Wales, #800
21. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland, #810
22. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales, #821 (UPDATE: Late injury replacement for Owen Farrell)
23. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England, #822

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU