DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Women On Track

9th December 2012 By jess

Munster Women On Track

Munster Women continued their winning Inerpro form by defeating Connacht 24-3 in Musgrave Park on Saturday afternoon.

Niamh Briggs opened the scoring with a penalty in the opening 10 minutes before the pack's dominance paid off just before the half hour mark when a rolling maul ended with Anna Caplice touching down for the first try. Briggs added the extras.

Connacht's response was a converted penalty in the opening half before Munster once again showed their strength and experience dominating the final forty with tries from Captain Heather O'Brien and Niamh Briggs. Briggs was on target for both conversions.

Final score at Musgrave Park 24-3.

Next up for the Munster Women is the final challenge of defending champions Leinster in Ashbourne on Saturday, ko 1.30pm. The Leinster side are also undefeated at this point so it's all to play for in next weekend's Interprovincial Championship decider.

The development of women's rugby continues to prosper as the Munster U19 Girls enjoyed another successful outing on Saturday defeating their Connacht counterparts 60 points to 5.

Munster Women: Claire Keohane (UL Bohs); Ashling Hutchins (UL Bohs), Niamh Briggs (UL Bohs), Laura O’Mahony (Tralee), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohs); Nicole Fitzgerald (UL Bohs), Louise Costello (UL Bohs); Fiona Hayes (UL Bohs), Chris Fanning (Highfield), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohs); Heather O’Brien Capt. (Highfield), Orlaith Buckley (Highfield); Anna Caplice (UL Bohs), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee), Joy Neville (UL Bohs). Replacements: Leah Barbour (UL Bohs), Laura Guest (Highfield), Karen Casey (Highfield), Ciara Griffin (Tralee), Clara Bracken (Highfield), Nicola Scully (Highfield), Riona Kennedy (Tralee).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Watch our first interview with new Attack Coach Mike Prendergast as he returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where...