DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Wallace, Leamy Dowling and Tipoki Included in Munster Squad For Connacht

26th March 2008 By Munster Rugby

Wallace, Leamy Dowling and Tipoki Included in Munster Squad For Connacht

The three players who were ruled out of the Munster squad for the game against Ulster, David Wallace, Denis Leamy and Rua Tipoki, are all named in Munster’s squad for the trip to Galway on Friday.

Also included is Ian Dowling who was forced out of Munster’s starting XV in the hours leading up to kick-off with a stomach bug.

Wallace, Leamy and Dowling all took a full part in training this morning in Cork while Tipoki is expected to play some part in Munster’s clash with Connacht.

“We are obviously pleased to be able to name them in the squad”, said coach Declan Kidney, ” and now it’s a case of seeing how they come out of that training session today before we finalise the side tomorrow. We’re hopeful that Rua will take a part in the game on Friday.”

Speaking on the task facing his side in Galway Kidney added, “Local derbies have a life of their own. You only have to look at recent results between us to appreciate how tough this one will be. Last time here (Sportsground) we were behind for most of the game and then there have been a few three nil wins. So we’re expecting more of the same. It’s never an easy place to get something out of.

Munster Squad: D Hurley, S Payne, I Dowling, D Howlett, R Tipoki, K Lewis, L Mafi, B Carney, P Warwick, R O’Gara, T O’Leary, P Stringer, M Horan, J Flannery, F Sheahan, J Hayes, T Buckley,  M O’Driscoll, D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell,  D Ryan, A Quinlan, D Leamy, D Wallace, N Ronan, J Coughlan, A Foley.  

Connacht Squad: Liam Bibo, Andrew Browne, Liam Casserly, Mel Deane, Gavin Duffy, Andy Dunne, Peter Durcan, Andrew Farley, Adrian Flavin, John Fogarty, David Gannon, Ronan Loughney, John Lyne, Keith Matthews, Brian McGovern, Conor McPhillips, Joe Merrigan, Robbie Morris, Matt Mostyn, John Muldoon, Troy Nathan, John O’Connor, Conor O’Loughlin, Colm Rigney, Daniel Riordan, Brett Wilkinson, Darren Yapp.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Hear from Munster Head Coach Graham Rowntree and Jack O'Donoghue ahead of Saturday’s URC Round 15 clash against the Lions at Emirates Airline Park (4pm...