DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Carney Set for Ireland Debut

23rd May 2007 By Munster Rugby

Carney Set for Ireland Debut

Munster’s Brian Carney is set to make his debut for Ireland against Argentina on Saturday, and is the only uncapped player named in the starting XV.

In the forwards, Jerry Flannery starts at hooker for the first time since the summer tour last year.  On the bench, Munster’s Tony Buckley, Mick O’Driscoll, Tomas O’Leary and Barry Murphy have all been named. 

Andrew Trimble and Munster bound Kieran Lewis make up the centre partnership while Paddy Wallace and Isaac Boss link up at half back.  Gavin Duffy makes his first start at full back. 

Malcolm O’Kelly returns to the side after missing the entire RBS 6 Nations Championship due to injury and is partnered in second row by Trevor Hogan.  In the backrow, Jamie Heaslip makes his second start for Ireland at No.8 and is flanked by Neil Best and Keith Gleeson.  The team will be captained by Simon Best for the first time.

Ireland Coach Eddie O’Sullivan said, “This tour is about allowing players to challenge for the World Cup squad and it starts this weekend in the first test against Argentina.  Players have to put their hands up over the next two weeks to put their case forward.  Now that might put pressure on players, but there is no more pressurised an environment then international rugby and the world cup, so this will be a good test for them.”

The Ireland team to play Argentina on Saturday, 26th May 2007 in the Estadio Brigadier Estanislao Lopez del Barrio Centenario, Santa Fe at 16.10hrs local time (20.10 Irish time) is as follows:

Player Club Caps
15 – Gavan Duffy Galwegians/Connacht 4
14 – Brian Carney Clonakilty/Munster 0
13 – Andrew Trimble Ballymena/Ulster 14
12 – Kieran Lewis St.Mary’s College/Leinster 1
11 – Tommy Bowe Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 8
10 – Paddy Wallace Ballymena/Ulster 3
9 – Isaac Boss Ballymena/Ulster 7
1 – Bryan Young Ballymena/Ulster 5
2 – Jerry Flannery Shannon/Munster 14
3 – Simon Best Captain Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 16
4 – Trevor Hogan Shannon/Leinster 3
5 – Malcolm O’Kelly St.Mary’s College/Leinster 83
6 – Neil Best Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 10
7 – Keith Gleeson St.Mary’s College/Leinster 25
8 – Jamie Heaslip Clontarf/Leinster 1

16 – Bernard Jackman Clontarf/Leinster 2
17 – Tony Buckley Shannon/Munster 0
18 – Mick O’Driscoll Cork Constitution/Munster 9
19 – Stephen Ferris Dungannon 1
20 – Tomas O’Leary Dolphin/Munster 0
21 – Geordan Murphy Leicester 46
22 – Barry Murphy U.L. Bohemians/Munster 0



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

See highlights and the best pics from our bonus-point URC win over the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. Shane Daly, RG Snyman, John Hodnett...