DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster Youths Defeat Connacht

15th October 2005 By Munster Rugby

Munster Youths Defeat Connacht

Munster Youths put last week’s defeat to Leinster well behind them with a 14-10 win over Connacht at the Sportsgrounds

IRFU U18 Youth Interprovincial

Saturday 15th October 2005


Sportsgrounds, Galway

Munster Youths came back after a disappointing defeat by Leinster last week to beat Leinster 14-10 at the Sportsgrounds in Galway on Saturday. However, it will be the New Year before the Championship title is played for with the semi finals and finals scheduled for the last two weekends in January.

Playing with a strong breeze in the first half, Munster used it to their advantage, driving home three successive penalties which were converted by Thomond s Geoff Ryan after Connacht were penalised for offside offences. Ryan kicked the first penalty after 12 minutes, the second after 21 minutes and a third just before the half hour mark. Munster stretched their lead before the end of the half with a try from wing forward Alan Dinan, after a break from out half Ryan split the defence. He lined with outside centre William Devane who fed to Dinan for the try.

The wind proved to be a huge factor in the game, with Connacht regrouping and picking off points to come very much back into the match in the second half. Centre Walter Gibbons kicked a penalty for Connacht ten minutes into the second half after Munster were penalised this time for offside. Despite Gibbons missing a kick at goal four minutes later, Connacht continued to pressurise the Munster defence, and were rewarded when Sean Joyce crossed the line twenty three minutes into the second half, which Gibbons converted. With just four points between the sides going into the last quarter, Munster kept the ball in tight for the remainder of the game, and Connacht were unable to penetrate, despite some fine attempts by Connacht centre John O Brien who was threatening throughout the game. Munster held on for the victory, with last week s defeat firmly behind them. Second row David Foley from Clonmel again had an outstanding game, stealing a number of Connacht s line out throws. Wing forward Sean Nixon also played a stormer, with props Mick Moynihan and Pat O Regan impressive in the tight.


15. Paddy O Sullivan (Killarney), 14. Paul Cullity (Castleisland), 13. William Devane (Corca Dhuibhne), 12. Garett Hogan (Youghal), 11. Diarmuid McMahon (St. Senans), 10. Geoff Ryan (Thomond) 9. Dale Harris (Waterpark), 1. Michael Moynihan (Sunday s Well), 2. Wayne O Mahony (Thurles) 3. Pat O Regan (Tralee), 4. Keith Quigley (Nenagh Ormond) 5. David Foley (Clonmel), 6. Sean Nixon (Newcastle West), 7. Alan Dinan (Cork Constitution), 8. Noel Kinnane (Thurles)


Alan O Connell (Old Christians) for Keith Quigley, Eamon Boland (Youghal) for Mick Moynihan, Aidan Tobin for Geoff Ryan


15. Philip Hunt (Sligo), 14. Aenghus O Connaill (Corinthians), 13. John O Brien (Connemara), 12. Walter Gibbons, Captain (Connemara), 11. Patrick Madden (Connemara), 10. Alan Gaughan (Athlone), 9. Ross Shaughnessy (Galwegians), 1. Dave Kelly (Galwegians), 2. Chris McHugh (Ballinrobe), 3. Conor Higgins (Ballinasloe), 4. Brendan McManus (Athlone), 5. David Nolan (Galwegians), 6. Dermot Murphy (Galwegians), 7. Kevin Creavin (Athlone), 8. Martin Coyne (Connemara),


16. Barry Gibbons (Connemara), 17. Kyle Kennedy (Athlone), 18. Alan Hughes (Athlone), 19. Jeff Draper (Sligo), 20. Cathal Sheridan (Sligo), 21. Sean Joyce (Connemara), 22. Billy Henshaw (Athlone)

Referee: J.Peak (UAR)



Saturday October 1st 2005

Munster 27 Ulster 0

Leinster 22 Connacht 10

Saturday 8th October 2005

Leinster 19 Munster 0

Ulster 5 Connacht 10

Saturday 15th October 2005

Connacht 10 Munster 14

Ulster v Leinster, Ravenhill, 1pm


The Munster Youth squad has been selected from last year s Regional Championship, a competition ran at Under 17 level, where teams representing North, West, South and East Munster competed against each other. Last season, West Munster won the competition for the first time, and a number of those players are now on this Munster Youth team.

Sponsored by Avonmore Supermilk, the present squad has worked very hard with the coaches, including Head coach, Tom Mulcahy, forwards coach Eddie Montgomery, backs coach Pat Collins and Manager Nick O Keeffe, ably assisted by Regional Development Officer Mark Hickey.

This year the championship is in two phases, with a round robin phase in October and the semi finals and final to take place on the last two weekends of January.

The Youth Interprovincials have been underway for over 15 years, and have contributed greatly to raising the standard of Youth Rugby in the province. As an indication of some of the calibre of those involved, a number of top class rugby players, including Alan Quinlan and Donncha O Callaghan both played on the Munster Youths team before going onto international success.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby can confirm that Antoine Frisch will depart for Toulon in the summer after two years at the province. Antoine has been a fantastic...