DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster v Neath – Pre-Match News

5th October 2002 By Munster Rugby

Munster v Neath – Pre-Match News

The Munster team arrived yesterday at their Swansea Hotel (Marriott) a little later than expected after airport delays left them over two hours behind schedule.

Munster arrived yesterday at their Swansea Hotel (Marriott) a little later than expected after airport delays left them over two hours behind schedule.

A quick call-in to the Gnoll was made en route to the hotel and this morning the early risers were Simon Kerr, Donncha O’Callaghan and Ronan O’Gara. Team coach Alan Gaffney reported a clean bill of health for his players but he will wait until shortly before kick off before deciding on whether Mike Prendergast or Dominic Malone will sit on the bench. Denis Leamy is the named ahead of Eddie Halvey.

The team will have their usual lineout practice at 1pm before sitting down to their pre-match meal at 1.30 and depart for the ground around 4 pm.

The Neath Coach Lyn Jones had this to say ahead of the Celtic League clash

“If we want to be the best we have to beat the best” said Neath coach Lyn Jones ahead of his side’s clash with Munster today at the Courage Gnoll and Neath will be aiming to repeat their victory of 12 months ago when Lee Jarvis scored all their points in a 30-22 victory.

“Munster are a good footballing side, but our supporters should not expect to see Barbarian style rugby on Saturday evening. They can play entertaining football, but do not play rugby until they are in front. They proved this in Edinburgh, where they bored the home side into submission”

Munster Team to Face Neath:

Jeremy Staunton, John Kelly, Mike Mullins, Rob Henderson, Mossie Lawlor, Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer, Marcus Horan, Frank Sheahan, John Hayes, Donnacha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Jim Williams (Capt.), Alan Quinlan, Anthony Foley.

Replacements: Simon Kerr, James Blaney, Mick Galwey, Eddie Halvey, Denis Leamy, Mike Prendergast, Dominic Malone, Jason Holland, Dominic Crotty.

Neath Team:

Gareth Morris, James Storey, Dave Tiueti, Allan Bateman, Shane Williams, Lee Jarvis, Andy Moore, Shaun Connor, Sean Marsden, Patrick Horgan, Nathan Bonner-Evans, Steve Tandy, Steve Martin, Gareth Llewellyn, Andy Newman, Alfie Mocelutu, Hywel Jenkins, Andrew Millward, Adam Jones, Barry Williams, Steve Jones, Duncan Jones.

Munster v Neath – Celtic League 6th Round

Kick-off: Saturday, October 5th, 17:30 (GMT) Venue: The Courage Gnoll, Neath, Wales.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s URC Round 14 clash against Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld (4.05pm Irish time/5.05pm local, live on RTÉ)....