DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team News | Munster Side To Face Ulster

November 9, 2023 11:53 am By The Editor

Diarmuid Barron captains the side, Stephen Archer is among the replacements and Fineen Wycherley starts on his 100th Munster cap.

Diarmuid Barron captains the side, Stephen Archer is among the replacements and Fineen Wycherley starts on his 100th Munster cap. Inpho

The Munster side has been named for our first Interpro derby of the season against Ulster in Belfast on Friday night (7.35pm, live on RTÉ).

Our next home game is against Stormers at Thomond Park on Saturday week with a 5.15pm kick-off. Buy Munster v Stormers tickets here.

Hooker Diarmuid Barron captains Munster for the first time with Fineen Wycherley starting on his 100th Munster appearance.

Three Academy players are included in the squad with five changes to the starring XV that beat Dragons at Musgrave Park last week.

Antoine Frisch and Jack Crowley come into the backline with returning Ireland international Jeremy Loughman, Fineen Wycherley and John Hodnett starting in the pack.

The back three personnel are unchanged with Shane Daly at full-back as Calvin Nash and Seán O’Brien swap wings.

Alex Nankivell moves to inside centre and starts with Antoine Frisch in midfield for the first time as Craig Casey and Jack Crowley start together for the first time this season in the half-backs.

Loughman, Barron and John Ryan pack down in the front row with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo and Wycherley in the engine room.

Alex Kendellen, Hodnett and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley and Stephen Archer provide the front row back-up as Tom Ahern and Academy back-row Brian Gleeson complete the forward cover.

Paddy Patterson, Rory Scannell and 19-year-old Academy back three player Ben O’Connor are the backline replacements.

Jack O’Donoghue was not considered for selection due to illness.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Seán O’Brien; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron (C), John Ryan; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Alex Kendellen, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, Tom Ahern, Brian Gleeson, Paddy Patterson, Rory Scannell, Ben O’Connor.

Press Pass

Hear from Head Coach Graham Rowntree and Seán O’Brien ahead of the game.


URC Round 5: Saturday, November 18

Munster v DHL Stormers, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 7: Friday, December 1

Munster v Glasgow Warriors, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Champions Cup Round 1: Saturday, December 9

Munster Rugby v Aviron Bayonnais, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 8: Tuesday, December 26

Munster v Leinster, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Champions Cup Round 4: Saturday, January 20

Munster Rugby v Northampton Saints, Thomond Park, 5.30pm; Buy tickets here

Saturday, February 3

Munster Rugby v Crusaders, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 5pm; Buy final tickets here

URC Round 11: Friday, March 1

Munster v Zebre Parma, Musgrave Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 13: Saturday, March 30

Munster v Cardiff Rugby, Thomond Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 16: Saturday, May 11

Munster v Connacht, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

URC Round 18: Saturday, June 1

Munster v Ulster, Thomond Park, 5.15pm; Buy tickets here

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Suffer URC Defeat to Ulster

November 10, 2023 11:28 pm By The Editor

Munster Suffer URC Defeat

Munster and Ulster comete in the lineout. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Munster’s unbeaten start to the BKT United Rugby Championship came to a halt at Kingspan Stadium when Ulster came from eleven points adrift to secure victory.

It was a hotly contested affair which swung one way and then the other, but it was Ulster who secured victory with their second try in the final quarter and Munster had to be content with a losing bonus point.

Munster, on a night when Diarmuid Barron captained the team for the first time and 25-year-old Fineen Wycherley made his 100th appearance, led by 14-8 at the interval.

Scrum-half Craig Casey crossed for both of Munster’s tries, getting them off the mark after five minutes when he sniped over after good pressure.

Jack Crowley added the conversion, but Ulster hit back, and Nathan Doak got them off the mark with a penalty after Shane Daly picked up a yellow card for a collision with his opposite number Ethan McIlroy.

The men in red increased their lead while temporarily down to 14 men with Casey again managing to squeeze through to score. Crowley’s conversion from the left made it 14-3 after 18 minutes.

Ulster reduced the margin before the break when Jacob Stockdale scored in the left corner after collecting a cross kick from Billy Burns.

The northern province got back on level terms early into the third quarter after a couple of penalties from Doak.

Both sides created good opportunities in a well-contested encounter, but it was Ulster who hit the front foot 13 minutes from time when Nick Timoney got over from a scrum and Doak pushed the lead out to seven with the conversion.

Munster piled on the pressure in the closing moments but while they got over the line they were unable to ground the ball and Ulster held on for victory.

URC Round 4 Round-Up

Diarmuid Barron, who captained the province for the first time, departed for a HIA.

Three Academy players were involved in the round 4 encounter.

Fineen Wycherley made his 100th appearance for the province.

Munster: Shane Daly, Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell (Rory Scannell, 59), Seán O’Brien (Ben O’Connor, 66), Jack Crowley, Craig Casey (Paddy Patterson, 72), Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley, 50), Diarmuid Barron (Scott Buckley, 52), John Ryan (Stephen Archer, 50), Edwin Edogbo (Tom Ahern, 50), Fineen Wycherley; Alex Kendellen (Brian Gleeson, 50), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups