DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Glasgow Warriors

February 10, 2022 11:59 am By The Editor

Simon Zebo will make his 150th Munster appearance against Glasgow.

Simon Zebo will make his 150th Munster appearance against Glasgow. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Friday night’s United Rugby Championship clash against Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun (8.15pm, live on TG4).

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Simon Zebo starts on the wing for his 150th Munster appearance as Gavin Coombes returns from international duty to start at no.8.

There are eight changes to the side that secured a bonus-point win away to Zebre last time out.

Zebo, Mike Haley, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell and Ben Healy come into the backline with Coombes, Stephen Archer and Chris Cloete joining the pack.

Jack O’Donoghue captains the side and is joined in the back row by Coombes and Cloete, who has scored three tries in as many games this season and makes his first appearance since October.

Haley, Shane Daly and Zebo form the back three with a centre partnership of Scannell and Farrell.

Neil Cronin keeps his place at scrum-half after a Player of the Match performance against Zebre with Healy starting at out-half.

Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron and Archer pack down in the front row with an unchanged second row partnership of Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley.

O’Donoghue, Cloete and Coombes complete the side.

Kevin O’Byrne is among the replacements and could make his first appearance since September.

Greencore Academy trio Cian Hurley, Alex Kendellen and Paddy Patterson are also included in the squad.

Hurley is set for his first appearance of the campaign and could become the 59th player to line out for the province so far this season.

Munster: Mike Haley; Shane Daly, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Ben Healy, Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Chris Cloete, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley, John Ryan, Cian Hurley, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, John Hodnett.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Beaten In Glasgow

February 11, 2022 10:22 pm By The Editor

Jack O

Jack O'Donoghue is tackled by Jack Dempsey and Robbie Fergusson. Inpho

Munster were beaten by Glasgow Warriors in difficult conditions at Scotstoun on Friday night, claiming a losing bonus-point.

Jean Kleyn was the Munster try-scorer with Ben Healy kicking two penalties as Glasgow edged a tight battle.

Glasgow led 10-3 at the interval thanks to a Scott Cummings charge-down try on the stroke of half-time. Munster were improved after the break but just couldn’t push home their advantage with Glasgow deserving the victory.

Another late comeback looked possible when Kleyn crossed on 72 minutes but Jack Crowley was unable to add the tricky conversion and Glasgow held on.

Munster started well with the returning Chris Cloete winning an early trademark turnover penalty. Neil Cronin then made good ground when sniping down the blindside but Glasgow defended well and were competing strongly at the breakdown to prevent any Munster momentum.

Duncan Weir’s 15th-minute penalty gave Glasgow the lead following a Simon Zebo high tackle.

A big carry from Gavin Coombes off the base of a scrum gave Munster another great attacking platform but Glasgow again defended well.

Good hands from Stephen Archer, Be Healy and Diarmuid Barron released Rory Scannell through the middle however and a Glasgow offside allowed Healy to kick his first penalty to level the score on 37 minutes.

Glasgow had the final say of the half however as Cummings blocked Cronin’s attempted clearance and did well to dot down. Weir’s conversion made it 10-3.

Cronin was strong over the ball to win a penalty early in the second half with Munster keeping Glasgow pinned back through chips in behind from Healy and Haley.

Munster were winning the kicking battle and went to the corner on 50 minutes after a high tackle on Healy  but Glasgow stole the ball in the maul and the opportunity was gone.

Glasgow hooker Fraser Brown was sin-binned on 56 minutes for cynically knocking the ball out of Cronin’s hands as he shifted the ball from the ruck.

Healy took on the long-range kick but it went just wide.

The hosts then made it 13-3 on the hour thanks to Weir’s second penalty after Munster were pinged at the breakdown.

Trailing by 10 going into the final quarter, Munster finally started to gain momentum and Healy kicked his second penalty on 63 minutes after a scrum penalty.

Munster upped the tempo with Chris Farrell carrying with real intent as the replacements came on and made a real impact.

Academy scrum-half Paddy Patterson made a rapid break through the middle before teeing up Jean Kleyn for the first Munster try on 72 minutes.

Crowley was unable to add the conversion and Glasgow led 13-11 with seven minutes to go.

A superb steal from John Hodnett won back possession but Munster were pinged for offside in the aftermath following a Crowley chip in behind Glasgow’s midfield defence.

Josh Wycherley did well to gather the overthrown Glasgow lineout and Munster worked their way up the field but Glasgow won the penalty at the breakdown to hang on for the victory.

United Rugby Championship Round 9 Round-Up

Two Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players featured – Alex Kendellen and Paddy Patterson.

Simon Zebo earned his 150th Munster cap.

Munster: Mike Haley; Shane Daly, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Ben Healy (Jack Crowley, 67), Neil Cronin (Paddy Patterson, 67); Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley, 54), Diarmuid Barron (Kevin O’Byrne, 67), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 60); Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Chris Cloete (John Hodnett, 54), Gavin Coombes (Alex Kendellen, 67).

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups