DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team News | Munster Side To Face Zebre At Musgrave Park

September 30, 2022 11:59 am By The Editor

Academy winger Conor Phillips starts on his Munster debut.

Academy winger Conor Phillips starts on his Munster debut. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s round three BKT United Rugby Championship clash against Zebre at Musgrave Park (5.05pm).

Buy match tickets here.

Greencore Munster Rugby Academy duo Conor Phillips and Patrick Campbell start on either flank with Phillips making his senior debut and Campbell making his URC debut.

Peter O’Mahony captains Munster with four changes to the side that faced Dragons last week as Keynan Knox and Tadhg Beirne come into the pack.

Craig Casey and Mike Haley both start following today’s news that they are among five players to sign contract extensions with Casey making his 50th appearance for Munster.

18-year-old Academy back-row forward Ruadhan Quinn from Old Crescent and formerly of Crescent College is included among the replacements and set to become the youngest ever player to line out in a competitive fixture for Munster in the professional era.

Academy lock Edwin Edogbo is also among the replacements and could make his second Munster appearance following his debut last week.

Stephen Archer will make his 250th Munster appearance when he is sprung from the bench.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Young Munster duo Phillips, a former Crescent College student, and Campbell, a former PBC student, completing the back three.

Dan Goggin moves to inside centre with Malakai Fekitoa starting at 13.

Craig Casey and Ben Healy continue their half-back partnership.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Knox pack down in the front row with Fineen Wycherley and Beirne, making his first start of the season, in the engine room.

Jack O’Donoghue, O’Mahony and Jack O’Sullivan complete the starting XV.

Jeremy Loughman, Conor Murray and Rory Scannell are all set for their first appearances of the URC season off the bench.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Mike Haley; Conor Phillips, Malakai Fekitoa, Dan Goggin, Patrick Campbell; Ben Healy, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Keynan Knox; Fineen Wycherley, Tadhg Beirne; Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Edwin Edogbo, Ruadhan Quinn, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, Rory Scannell.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Beat Zebre At Musgrave Park

October 1, 2022 7:23 pm By The Editor

Jack O’Sullivan in action against Zebre Parma.

Jack O’Sullivan in action against Zebre Parma. Inpho

Munster beat Zebre on Saturday evening in round 3 of the BKT United Rugby Championship at Musgrave Park on Saturday evening.

All three Munster tries were scored in the first half with Niall Scannell (two) and Keynan Knox touching down as Ben Healy kicked three conversions.

Conor Phillips and Ruadhan Quinn made their Munster debuts with Quinn making history as the province’s youngest player of the professional era.

They were two of four Academy players involved with Patrick Campbell and Edwin Edogbo also impressing.

Phillips’ first touch saw him rise highest to collect a Craig Casey box kick and offload to get Munster on the front foot early on.

A Tadhg Beirne turnover after a tackle from Campbell won Munster a penalty with Ben Healy kicking to within five metres.

The Munster pack did the rest as they mauled over after eight minutes with Scannell touching down with Healy’s conversion making it 7-0.

Another dominant rolling maul laid the platform for the second try from Knox on 17 minutes as he scored from close range.

Jack O’Donoghue looked to have scored the third try on 22 minutes after Tadhg Beirne robbed a lineout and Craig Casey took a quick tap but the ball went forward as O’Donoghue touched down.

However, Gabriele Venditti was sent to the sin bin for not retreating 10 minutes after Casey’s quick tap and Munster went to the corner as Scannell scored his second try following the maul.

Zebre enjoyed a purple patch as the half wore on but Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne stole lineouts time after time to keep the visitors scoreless at the break.

Zebre were back in the game on 44 minutes as they went wide to Jacopo Trulla on the left flank and he chipped ahead for Lorenzo Pani to score with the bouncing ball beating Healy.

Tiff Eden was off target and it stayed 21-5.

It was a stop-start encounter throughout with neither side able to build any sort of moment and further moments of note were few and far between for the remainder of the game.

Edwin Edogbo and Ruadhan Quinn made big impacts off the bench with Edogbo winning two important turnovers and Quinn making two rampaging runs down the left wing.

There was to be no bonus point for Munster but it was an important win ahead of next Friday’s trip to Connacht.

URC Round 3 Round-Up

Conor Phillips made his senior debut for Munster and was one of four Academy players who featured.

18-year-old Ruadhan Quinn became the youngest player to line out for Munster in a competitive fixture in the professional era.

Stephen Archer made his 250th Munster appearance.

Craig Casey made his 50th appearance.

Munster: Mike Haley; Conor Phillips, Malakai Fekitoa, Dan Goggin (Rory Scannell, 60), Patrick Campbell; Ben Healy (Joey Carbery, 49), Craig Casey (Conor Murray, 49); Dave Kilcoyne (Jeremy Loughman, 49), Niall Scannell (Scott Buckley, 49), Keynan Knox (Stephen Archer, 45); Fineen Wycherley (Edwin Edogbo, 58), Tadhg Beirne; Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Sullivan (Ruadhan Quinn, 73).

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups