DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Announcement | Munster Side To Face Glasgow

October 26, 2018 11:46 am By The Editor

CJ Stander will make his 120th appearance for Munster at Thomond Park on Saturday.

CJ Stander will make his 120th appearance for Munster at Thomond Park on Saturday.

The Munster team to face Conference A leaders Glasgow Warriors in the Guinness PRO14 at Thomond Park on Saturday at 5.15pm has been named by Head Coach Johann van Graan.

Buy tickets from just €20 here.

Nine of the 11 Munster players called up to the Ireland squad earlier this week are included in the 23.

Peter O’Mahony captains the team and Keith Earls, fresh from signing a contract extension, returns as one of seven changes to the side that secured a bonus-point win against Gloucester in the Champions Cup last week.

Sammy Arnold is included having been named in an Ireland squad for the first time this week with Alby Mathewson and JJ Hanrahan also coming in to form a new half-back partnership.

The three final changes are in the pack with hooker Niall Scannell returning from a knock as Billy Holland and Chris Cloete are also included.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Earls on either flank.

Rory Scannell and Arnold pair up in the centre with Mathewson and Hanrahan at scrum-half and out-half respectively.

James Cronin and John Ryan pack down on either side of Niall Scannell with Jean Kleyn and Holland resuming their partnership in the engine room.

O’Mahony, Cloete and CJ Stander complete the side with Stander set to make his 120th appearance for the province.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Sammy Arnold, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Arno Botha, Neil Cronin, Ian Keatley, Darren Sweetnam.

Video | Keith Earls On Signing A New Contract & The Glasgow Challenge


Available from €20 online here


from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park, Cork (open 10am – 5pm, Monday to Friday)


call 061 421103

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Scannell Snatches Dramatic Victory

October 27, 2018 7:31 pm By The Editor

Munster celebrate at full-time.

Munster celebrate at full-time.

A dramatic Rory Scannell penalty from 55 metres in the final play saw Munster secure a dramatic comeback win over Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park in the Guinness PRO14 on Saturday evening.

Munster trailed 24-10 as the game entered the final 15 minutes but tries from Alex Wootton and Man of the Match Alby Mathewson got Munster back in it with Ian Keatley adding a conversion.

Despite those two tries, Munster still trailed by two points as the game drew to a close with Glasgow in possession but excellent work at the breakdown won the penalty and Scannell was the hero with a perfectly struck penalty.

A late change to the Munster side saw Darren Sweetnam replace Andrew Conway on the right wing as Alex Wootton came into the replacements.

After a fractious opening, Munster took the lead after nine minutes through a James Cronin try.

The score was created after excellent work in midfield from Rory Scannell and Hanrahan sent Earls racing through a gap.

The winger found Mike Haley in space and although the full-back was tackled, Munster were eventually awarded a penalty for a Glasgow offside.

The kick went to the corner and Munster’s forwards took care of the rest with Cronin barging over from close range with John Ryan in support.

Hanrahan added the conversion and Munster led 7-0 after nine minutes.

Munster were on top but failed to take advantage with Glasgow hitting back with a rapid counter-attack.

George Horne dotted down in the left corner despite the best efforts of Earls and Peter Horne missed the touchline conversion as Munster remained 7-5 in front.

Peter Horne missed a shot at goal before Glasgow took the lead after a slick backline move sent George Horne over for his second try.

This time Peter Horne made no mistake and Glasgow led 12-7 at the interval.

Glasgow made a strong start to the second half and were nearly over in the right corner but a last second intervention from Peter O’Mahony and Billy Holland.

Unfortunately, Chris Cloete was sent to the sin bin for a tackle off the ball and Munster were down to 14 for 10 minutes.

Glasgow took advantage of the extra man to score their third try after two dominant scrums with no.8 Matt Fagerson scoring.

The conversion was missed and Munster trailed 17-7 after 50 minutes.

A brilliant Hanrahan break from halfway very nearly got Munster back in it but last-ditch Glasgow defence saw the out-half held up over the line.

A huge effort from the seven-man Munster pack won a penalty off the Glasgow scrum with Hanrahan kicking his first penalty to move Munster within seven as Cloete returned.

Glasgow were over for the bonus-point try just before the hour as George Horne chipped over the top for Peter Horne to score with Brandon Thomson’s conversion making it 24-10 to the visitors.

A well-judged crossfield kick from replacement Ian Keatley got Munster back on the front foot and the comeback started on 66 minutes.

Earls and Haley put Wootton away to finish well in the left corner and reduce the arrears to nine points with Keatley’s touchline conversion wide.

The crowd were really getting behind the team now and after a period of huge pressure, Alby Mathewson did brilliantly to snipe over from close range.

Keatley added the extras and the score was 24-22 in Glasgow’s favour with six minutes remaining.

Glasgow looked to play out the final minutes near halfway but Munster managed to win a penalty at the breakdown towards the right flank.

It looked too far out to go for goal but Scannell stepped up to land a monster effort from 55 metres to secure a dramatic last-gasp victory with his team-mates mobbing him as the final whistle blew.

Munster: Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold (Alex Wootton, 38), Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; JJ Hanrahan (Ian Keatley, 61), Alby Mathewson (Neil Cronin, 77); James Cronin (Dave Kilcoyne, 45), Niall Scannell, John Ryan (Stephen Archer, 57); Jean Kleyn (Fineen Wycherley, 77), Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete (Arno Botha, 60), CJ Stander.


Video | Rory Scannell Interview

Guinness PRO14 Round 7 Round-Up

Alby Mathewson was awarded Man of the Match.

Sammy Arnold departed in the first half for a HIA.

Munster travel to South Africa on Monday ahead of next weekend’s game against the Cheetahs.

Next Home Game

Friday, November 30

Guinness PRO14: Munster v Edinburgh, Irish Independent Park, 7.35pm; Buy tickets here

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups