DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Weekend Junior Roundup

9th March 2009 By Munster Rugby

Weekend Junior Roundup

Cashel win the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup Final, as Tralee reach Munster Junior Cup semi finals and Ballincollig win promotion from the Second Division.

Reigning Munster Junior League Champions Cashel defeated holders Crosshaven 16-7 in the final of the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup Final at Charleville.

Crosshaven got off to a dream start with a try from Pierce O’Brien which Liam Delaney converted. Pat O’Connor had reduced the deficit to a point with two penalties before half time. A try by John Silke which O’Connor converted put Cashel ahead and Conor Quinlan completed the scoring with a drop goal.

Tralee booked a place in the Munster Junior Cup semi final after their 8-6 home win over Kilfeacle. Gareth Walsh gave the Kerry side a 3-0 interval lead. Derek Ryan levelled with a penalty for Kilfeacle. Dermot O’Sullivan restored Tralee’s advantage with a try and Kilfeacle’s only reply was a second penalty from Ryan.

Old Christians eased their relegation worries in the First Division with a 22-5 win over Clonmel at Rathcooney. John O’Flynn scored two tries for the winners and Peter Twomey got one. Aidan Tobin kicked two conversions and a penalty. Mark Normile scored a consolation try for the visitors.

Bandon recorded their first win of the league with an 18-12 win over neighbours Skibbereen.

Thurles completed their program with a 10-6 home win over Richmond. Francis Bannon scored two tries for the winners and Darragh Clancy replied with two penalties for the Limerick side.

Ballincollig were promoted from the Second Division following their top of the table 13-3 win over Kinsale. A Frazer Hodgson penalty had Kinsale 3-0 ahead at half time but the home side upped the ante in the second half and tries from Billy Quinlan and Dave Lucy and a Mick Hayden penalty saw Ballincollig pick up the points.

Youghal eased their relegation worries with an 18-0 victory away to Abbeyfeale, a result that looks like condemning the West Limerick side to the third Division next season. Stephen Kelly, David Hyde and Mark Hennessy scored tries for the East Cork side and Sean Barry kicked a penalty.

Muskerry defeated Kanturk 15-11. Denis O’Sullivan scored a try for the winners, who were also awarded a penalty try. Darragh Masterson kicked a conversion and penalty. John O’Sullivan replied with a penalty for Kanturk and Danny O’Callaghan kicked two penalties.

Presentation kept their promotion hopes alive in section A of the Third Division with an 11-0 home win over Kilrush. Alan Daly scored a try and penalty for the Limerick side and John Hayes kicked a penalty.

Carrick-on-Suir are assured of their place in the semi final following their 9-0 home win over Galbally. Prop Eddie Barry gave the Tipperary side the lead with a delightful drop goal and Ross Clery kicked two penalties.

Douglas kept their chances alive with a 13-0 win over Fermoy at the North Cork venue. Alan Lynn and John Huggard scored tries for the winners and Andy Larkin kicked a penalty.

Waterford City collected maximum points from their home tie against bottom side Dungarvan 41-5.

AIB League Division 1:
Ballymena 6,Shannon 7;
Blackrock College 48,Galwegians 10;
Buccaneers 6,St. Mary’s College 21;
Cork Constitution 17,Clontarf 13;
Dolphin 29,U.C.D. 12;
Garryowen 20,Young Munster 13;
Old Belvedere 5,Dungannon 6;
U.L. Bohemian 34,Terenure College 0;

Division 2:Ballynahinch 23,Dublin University 13;
Bective Rangers 8,Bruff 3;
Belfast Harlequins 8,Highfield 16;
Instonians 23,Malone 25;
Lansdowne 26,D.L.S.P. 8;
Old Crescent 24,Thomond 6;
U.C.C. 43,Clonakilty 3;
Wanderers 13,Greystones 18;

Division 3:Banbridge 23,Queens University 13;
Barnhall 10,Ards 13;
Connemara 9,Nenagh Ormond 15;
Corinthians 8,Co. Carlow 3;
Midleton 28,Naas 11;
Portadown 61,Waterpark 9;
Sunday’s Well 8,Rainey Old Boys 19;
Suttonians 13,Old Wesley 30;

Munster Junior Cup:Tralee 8,Kilfeacle 6;

Munster Junior League Division 1:Old Christians 22,Clonmel 5;
Skibbereen 14,Bandon 18;
Thurles 10,Richmond 6;

Division 2:Abbeyfeale 0,Youghal 18;
Ballincollig 13,Kinsale 3;
Muskerry 15,Kanturk 11;

Division 3 Section A:Presentation 11,Kilrush 0;

Section B:Carrick-on-Suir 9,Galbally 0;
Fermoy 0,Douglas 13;
Waterford City 41,Dungarvan 5;

Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup Final:Cashel 16,Crosshaven 7;

Munster Seconds League Division 1B:Highfield 40,Bruff 12; Young Munster 8,Shannon 8;

Gleeson League Semi Final:
Thomond 6,Garryowen 10;

Webb Cup:Thurles 18,Galbally 8;

Junior 2 Cup South:Dunmanway 31,Crosshaven 3;
Sunday’s Well 14,Shandon 7;

Junior 2 League Final:U.C.C. 14,Bandon 3;

McCarthy Cup Semi Final:Bandon 10,Fermoy 8;

Casey Cup:Waterford City 6,Waterpark 12;

Under 20 South Western Conference Division 1 Play Offs:Buccaneers 6,Garryowen 3;

Division 1:Sunday’s Well 12,Highfield 13;

Division 2 South Cup:Midleton 5,Dolphin 6;

Avonmore Milk Schools Senior Cup Semi Final:C.B.C. 14,P.B.C. 10;

South Under 18 Cup:Old Christians 15,Cobh Pirates 5;

South Under 18 Development Cup: Douglas 22,Cork Constitution 21;
Mitchelstown 31,Fermoy 0;

South Under 16 League Final:Crosshaven 19,Highfield 0;

South Under 16 Cup:
Bandon 11,Kanturk 8;
Kinsale 12,Cobh Pirates 11;

South Under 16 B Cup:Highfield B 15,Old Christians 8;

South Under 16 West Cork Cup Semi Final:Muskerry 23,Dunmanway 24;

South Under 14 B Cup:Muskerry 20,Dunmanway 27;

South Under 14 League Semi Finals:Bandon 34,Youghal 7;
Kanturk 20,Clonakilty 0;

North Under 16 League:Old Crescent 0,Newcatle West 25;

Women’s AIL Division 1:Ballincollig 3,Highfield 0;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News