DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Victories for CBC & Crescent in Avonmore Schools Junior Cup

24th February 2010 By Munster Rugby

Victories for CBC & Crescent in Avonmore Schools Junior Cup

Christians knocked holders Pres’ out of the Avonmore Milk Schools Junior Cup with a comprehensive victory at Temple Hill 31-10 and at Dooradoyle Crescent Comprehensive College booked their semi final spot with a 7-0 victory over Rockwell College.

C.B.C. 31, P.B.C. 10
Having missed out last year after two epic encounters, Christians Brothers College made no mistake with a deserving victory over their arch rivals.

This was a great effort by the Sydney Hill College who despite losing two scrums against the head in the early stages, dominated the forward exchanges and this set the platform for their success.

Man of the match Ryan Foley opened the scoring with a penalty for Christians after five minutes.

Pres’ hit back and spent the next ten minutes in the Christians Twenty Two but were unable to open their account.

Christians extended their lead on eighteen minutes when following a line out on the Pres’ Twenty Two, they mauled the ball over the line and Rory Burke touched down.

Minutes later Foley extended his side’s advantage with a second penalty kick.

Pres’ out half Tommy Duggan reduced the arrears with a penalty, but on the stroke of half time a break by Ryan on the blind side of a ruck linked up with Adam Finn who sent winger Chris McAuliffe in for a try in the corner for a 16-3 interval lead.

Foley extended that advantage with his third penalty two minutes after the restart but than Pres’ began to take control of the game but their final pass left them down on several occasions. They were rewarded for their endeavours with a try from Michael Murphy which Duggan converted after forty seven minutes.

Sensing that a come back maybe on the cards, Christians raised their game and were rewarded with two further tries in the final eight minutes. An other driving maul by the Christians pack brought play up to the Pres’ line and after a few drives at the line, Foley got in for a try.

With the final play of the game a delightful chip by Ryan over the Pres’ defence saw McAuliffe follow up to touch down in the corner and Foley converted.

Scorers C.B.C.:C McAuliffe 2 tries, R Foley try, 3 pens, 1 con, R Burke try.
P.B.C.:M Murphy try, T Duggan con, pen.

C.B.C.: Cillian Monaghan; Adam Finn, Jack Whooley, Joe Dowling, Adam McCarthy; Sean Quill, Ryan Foley; Jack Corbett, Charlie Slowey (capt), Rory Burke; Darragh O’Brien, Darragh Moloney; Tadhg Arigan, Ronan O’Sullivan, Patrick Leahy.
P.B.C.: Paddy Hegarty; James Daly, Gavin O’Callaghan, Peter O’Brien, Ian Long; Tommy Duggan, Edmund Healy; Gavin O’Herlihy, Max Abbot, Aidan O’Brien; Ryan Calnan, Conor Casey; Matthew Curtin (capt), Michael Murphy, Dylan Lane.
Referee: Ger English (M.A.R.)

Crescent Comprehensive College 7, Rockwell College 0.
Crescent are through to the last four of the Avonmore Milk Schools Junior Cup after a hard fought win over Rockwell College at Dooradoyle.

The only score in the game came three minutes before the half time whistle. From a ruck out half Gerard Lyons linked up with full back Gary O’Shea who fed Greg Barry, who sent winger Jack Frawley in at the corner. Diarmuid Dee converted from the touch line.

Rockwell were off target with two penalty attempts by Philip Quirke and O’Shea was wide with thirty five metre penalty for Crescent.

The nearest that Rockwell came to a try was when winger Liam Murchan was driven over by his forwards after a three man move, but a five metre scrum was awarded from which Crescent won a penalty and cleared the danger.

Scorers Crescent Comprehensive College: James Frawley try, Dermot O’Dee con.

Crescent Comprehensive College: G O’Shea; J Frawley, D Culhane, G Barry, M Mulvihill, G Lyons, S McGee, J Green, S Gleeson; F Kingston; C Blake E Casserly; J Sheehan, D Dee, J Dineen.
Rockwell: Phillip Quirke; Liam Murchan, Sean O’Donoghue, David Johnson, Ronan Maher; Coleman Kennedy, Aidan Barron; Cillian Farrell, Michael Fitzgerald, Daniel Lanigan-Ryan; Darragh Foley, Aidan Butler; James Feehan, Sonny Dwyer capt, James Counihan.
Referee: Shane Kierans (M.A.R.):


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster's next four home games see Toulouse, Leinster and Northampton visit Thomond Park with Musgrave Park hosting Munster v Lions at the start of January....