DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Rockwell advance in Schools Senior Cup

26th January 2010 By Munster Rugby

Rockwell advance in Schools Senior Cup

Rockwell College got their Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Senior Cup campaign off to a winning start with a deserved victory over St. Munchin’s at Clanwilliam Park and will now face the losers of the Ard Scoil Ris /PBC tie in the quarter final.

Rockwell College 27 St. Munchins 8

Rockwell did most of the damage in the opening half running in three tries in that period.

The Tipperary side opened their account after eleven minutes when out half JJ Hanrahan went in for a try which he converted. Donagh McGillicuddy and Harry McNulty added further tries on 20 and 28 minutes with Hanrahan converting both.

Hanrahan extended their lead with a penalty minutes later and Brian Morris opened Munchin’s account with a penalty on the stroke of half time.

Scrum half Darren Ryan reduced the deficit with a try for Munchin’s. Rockwell’s only score in the second half was a drop goal in the final minute by Hanrahan which hit both uprights before dropping over.

Munchin’s will now face the winners of the Crescent/CBC tie in the quarter finals.

Scorers Rockwell :JJ Hanrahan try, 3 cons, pen, drp gl, D McGillicuddy, H McNulty tries.
St. Munchin’s: D Ryan try,B Morris pen.
Rockwell: Brian O’Rahilly; Shaun Horgan, Harry McNulty, Donagh McGillicuddy, Ross Mullane; JJ Hanrahan, Tim Rafferty; Tom Doyle, Richard Moran, Cian O’Donnell; Stephen Maguire, Sean McCarthy; Shane Buckley (capt), Joseph Maher, Luke Cahill.
St. Munchin’s: Jack Murray; Paul Curtis, Lucas Kunz, Eamon Carr, Conor Cunnane; Brian Mullins, Darren Ryan; Shane Garvey, Eitan Hogan, James McGovern; Evan Ryan, Garvan Ryan; Cian Tsang, Keith McManus, Tom Goggin (capt);


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News