DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Pres are Junior Cup winners

11th March 2009 By Munster Rugby

Pres are Junior Cup winners

St Munchin’s College 3, P.B.C. 20. Presentation Brothers College, Cork, made a special bit of history when they won back the Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup, as they became the first school side to win a trophy at the new Thomond Park and they did so in style.

Two superbly taken tries inside as many minutes in the first half created the platform for victory.

The game burst into life after nineteen minutes. PBC managed to turn over possession and a superb one handed right hand pass by scrumhalf Philip O’Leary saw his outside partner Rory Scannell make a searing break to send centre Gavin O’Callaghan in under the posts. Steven Dinan converted.

Virtually straight from the kick-off PBC struck again. This time fullback Dinan made a searing run past several opponents and then offloaded precisely at the right moment to his right wing Brian Crowley who crossed for try number two.

St Munchin’s got on the scoreboard after 29 minutes when Tom O’Neill landed a penalty.

Two minutes into the second half the game ended as a contest when PBC had a third try. Again both halfbacks were involved with Rory Scannell sending in Seamus Glynn.

Scannell rounded off a great performance with a sweetly taken drop goal.

Scorers St. Munchin’s: Tom O’Neill pen
P.B.C.: Gavin O’Callaghan, Brian Crowley tries, Rory Scannell drop goal, Steven Dinan con.

St Munchin’s College: D Morrissey; C Shanahan, A Hannigan, C O’Donnell (c), G Bateman; T O’Neill, B Nugent; E Kelly, G Sheehan, D Byrne; M McSweeney, B Kilkenny; G Powell, S Airey, M Corbett.
Replacements: S Houlihan for Sheehan, 33 mins, B Molloy for Kilkenny, 48 mins, G Morgan and M Clancy for Byrne and McSweeney, 58 mins, C Ryan for Shanahan, 61 mins.

P.B.C.: S Dinan; B Crowley, S Glynn, G O’Callaghan, D O’Keeffe; R Scannell, P O’Leary; M Curtin, D Keohane, R Callanan; H O’Halloran, R McCarthy; I Silke, W Foley, J Fitzgerald, (c).
Replacements: R Fenton for Crowley, 53 mins, D Evans for O’Leary, 56, J Griffin for O’Halloran, 57, M Abbott for Keohane, 59 mins, T Duggan for O’Keeffe, 59 mins, A Cremin for O’Callaghan, 62 mins.

Referee: J Lacey (M.A.R.)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for our URC semi-final against Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park on Saturday (6pm). Over 19,000 tickets have already been...