DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Munster junior Rugby roundup 2nd May

2nd May 2010 By Munster Rugby

Munster junior Rugby roundup 2nd May

Several Finals were decided at the weekend as the season draws to a close.

U.L. Bohemian regained the Munster Seconds League title at Temple Hill with a 26-23 win over Cork Constitution in an exciting contest and so did the double at this level having retained their Munster Junior cup title last weekend.

U.L. dominated the opening half and were well worth their 20-8 lead at the break with tries from Darren Moroney, Mark Doyle and Harry deStacpoole. Aidan McNulty kicked a conversion and penalty. Cyprian Jouve replied with a try for the home side and Michael Keyes added a penalty.
McNulty extended U.L’s advantage with a penalty, but Con’ hauled themselves back into the game and were level 23-23 with ten minutes remaining. Timmy Kenneally, Robert Clune and Conor Desmond all scored tries for Con’ and Keyes saw a conversion and penalty attempt rebound off the posts.
McNulty put Bohes back in front with five minutes remaining and Clune was off target with a long range penalty effort with the final kick of the game.

Garryowen lifted the Munster Junior Plate trophy with a 61-6 win over Highfield at Annacotty. Diarmuid McMahon scored two tries for the winners and Mark Rowley, Joe Noone, Robert Meyers, Derry O’Connor, Michael O’Shea and Mark Melbourne got one each. Gerry Hurley kicked six conversions and three penalties. John Sheehan replied with two penalties for Highfield.

Cobh Pirates will face Richmond in the final of the Munster Junior 2 Cup next weekend after their 29-8 home win over Shannon in the semi final. A penalty by Fergus Curtin opened the scoring for Shannon but a Dave Walsh try and a conversion and penalty by Conor O’Regan had the home side 10-3 ahead at half time. James Murphy, Dion McKeown and Alan Langford added further tries and O’Regan kicked two conversions. Ciaran O’Connor scored a consolation try for the visitors in the final minute.

Bruff defeated holders Cashel 11-8 to win the Webb Cup for the first time at Clifford Park. A try from Howard Stanley and a penalty by Dermot O’Brien had Cashel 8-3 ahead at the interval. Richie McAuliffe kicked a penalty for Bruff. A try by Tommy Carroll and a second penalty by McAuliffe saw Bruff bring this trophy back to the County Limerick town for the first time.

Fermoy captured the Junior 3B League trophy at Musgrave Park with a 20-13 victory over Dolphin.
It was Dolphin who made the better start racing into a 10-0 lead with tries from Cian Griffin and James Kelly. A penalty by Thomas McAuliffe and a conversion of a try by John McCarthy had the sides level at half time. Dan Daly put Dolphin back in front with a penalty but a second try by McCarthy and a conversion and penalty by McAuliffe saw Fermoy lift the trophy.

Old Christians will play Cobh Pirates in the final of the Kelly Cup on Wednesday night next at Musgrave Park after their 21-10 victory over Dunmanway in the semi final at the West Cork venue. Philip Whooley, Peter Twohig and Dave Heaphy scored tries for the winners and Conor Mangan kicked three conversions. Matt Sanderson replied with two tries for the home side.

Elsewhere Young Munster lifted the O’Carroll Plate with an 18-13 victory over Thurles at Bruff.

Clonmel defeated Galbally 15-13 to win the Evans Cup and in the O’Connor Under 21 East Cup final, Kilfeacle defeated Nenagh Ormond 8-5.

Junior Interprovincial:
Munster 21,Ulster 13;
Connacht 17,Leinster 23;

Munster Junior Plate Final:Garryowen 61,Highfield 6;

Munster Seconds League Final:Cork Constitution 23,U.L. Bohemian 26;

Munster League Cup Semi Final:Cobh Pirates 29,Shannon 8;

Webb Cup Final:Bruff 11,Cashel 8;

O’Carroll Plate Final:Young Munster 18,Thurles 13;

Junior 3B League Final;Dolphin 13,Fermoy 20;

Evans Cup Final:Clonmel 15,Galbally 13;

Kelly Cup Semi Final:Dunmanway 10,Old Christians 21;

East Munster O’Connor Under 21 Cup Final:Nenagh Ormond 5,Kilfeacle 8;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU