DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Junior Rugby Roundup

30th March 2009 By Munster Rugby

Junior Rugby Roundup

Charleville and St. Senan’s picked up silverware, as Castleisland, Carrick-on-Suir and Galbally booked their places in the Third Division semi finals.

Charleville became the first winners of the Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Shield with a 9-7 victory over St. Mary’s at Abbeyfeale. The sides were scoreless at half time and Frank Holly opened the scoring with a penalty for the North Cork side. Mary’s hit back with a try from Kevin Moloney which Barry Gibbons converted. Holly came to Charleville’s rescue with two penalties to secure victory.

Both Bandon and Newport who were promoted to the First Division two seasons ago will now be playing in the second Division next season.

Despite racing into an early 14-0 lead with tries from John Coffey and Brian Collins and a Philip O’Brien conversion Newport lost at home to Cobh Pirates 18-14. Niall Walley and Colin Cronin scored tries for the Pirates and Eamon Ronan kicked two penalties and a conversion.

Despite taking an early lead with a penalty from Peter Mihaere, Skibbereen were no match for Richmond as the visitors ran out comfortable winners 30-3. Michael Kelleher, Jeff McNamara, Mossie O’Connor and Stephen Gallagher scored tries for the Limerick side. Kelleher kicked two conversions and a penalty and Darragh Clancy also added a penalty.

Tries by Niall Brogan and David Joyce helped Clonmel to a 10-7 away win over Crosshaven. Andrew Lane secured a bonus point for the home side with a try and conversion.

St. Senan’s won the Second Division championship with a hard earned 17-0 win over Muskerry at Ballyanly. Darren Guerin gave the Clare side a 3-0 interval lead with a penalty but two tries from Stephen Ryan both converted by Guerin secured victory for the Shannon town side.

Tries by Ian Broderick, Sean Barry and Stephen Kelly helped Youghal to a share of the spoils with Kanturk after the sides finished level 17-17 at the Duhallow venue. Barry kicked one conversion for the East Cork side who made sure of their Second Division status for next season. John Duggan and John O’Sullivan replied with tries for the home side and John O’Callaghan converted both and also added a penalty.

Four penalties by Bryan Murphy helped Ennis to a 12-11 win over Newcastle West. Karl Hayes replied with a try for the visitors and Sean Neville added two penalties.

Castleisland ended Presentation’s hopes of a semi final place in the Third Division after the Kerry side’s 31-0 home win. Padraic Cronin, Sean Flynn, Danny O’Sullivan and Andy Cauldwell scored tries for the winners and Flynn converted all four and also added a penalty.

Killarney kept their hopes alive of a semi final spot with a 44-5 away win over Scariff. Mike Nash and Paul O’Sullivan scored two tries each with Sean Hickey, Brian O’Leary and Pat Keating getting one apiece. Hickey kicked a penalty and Tim Dudley converted three of the tries.

Killorglin defeated Kilrush 21-10 to complete their league program. Vivian O’Callaghan and Kieran Crowley scored tries for the winners and Brian Gannon kicked two penalties and a conversion. Ronan Curtayne added a drop goal.

Galbally defeated Fermoy 16-0 to secure their semi final place. Philip O’Sullivan and Eoghan Bourke scored tries for the Limerick side and Stephen Bourke and Ian Casey kicked a penalty each.

Douglas defeated Waterford City 17-11 but that result was not enough for them to over take Galbally in the table. Conor Toland, Dave Callaghan, John Kidney scored tries for the Cork side and Andrew Larkin kicked one conversion.

Leaders Carrick-on-Suir finished their program with a 39-8 away win over Dungarvan. Dylan Davis scored three of Carrick’s seven tries, with Michael O’Connor getting two and Willie Stokes and Ed O’Donnell getting one each. Ross Cleary kicked two conversions.

Dolphin won promotion to Division One of the Munster Seconds League with a 28-7 win over Nenagh Ormond, while Bruff and Highfield will have to play off to see which side will be relegated from the top flight.

Garryowen defeated Cork Constitution 27-5 to reach the semi final of the Munster Junior Two League Cup, where they will face Bandon, after the West Cork side defeated Thomond 18-14. Also through to the last four are Cashel who overcame Ballincollig 21-20.

U.C.D. will face defending champions U.L. Bohemian in the semi final of the All Ireland Under 20 Cup next week after the Dublin students defeated U.C.C. 12-5 at the Mardyke.

AIB League Division 1:
Blackrock College 23,Cork Constitution 7;
Clontarf 46,Buccaneers 26;
Garryowen 45,Ballymena 7;
Shannon 23,Old Belvedere 19;
St. Mary’s College 38,Galwegians ;
Terenure College 8,Dungannon 22;
U.C.D. 25,U.L. Bohemian 30;
Young Munster 7,Dolphin 10;

Division 2:Bruff 20,Ballynahinch 22;
Clonakilty 24,Bective Rangers 9;
D.L.S.P. 20,Old Crescent 13;
Dublin University 17,Instonians 13;
Greystones 3,U.C.C. 46;
Highfield 7,Lansdowne 17;
Malone 31,Belfast Harlequins 15;
Thomond 19,Wanderers 9;

Division 3:Ards 8,Banbridge 10;
Naas 23,Suttonians 13;
Nenagh Ormond 14,Midleton 8;
Old Wesley 40,Connemara 6;
Queens University 27,Co. Carlow 20;
Rainey Old Boys 14,Portadown 7;
Sunday’s Well 12,Barnhall 3;
Waterpark 3,Corinthians 49;

All Ireland Provincial League Championship:Monivea 9,Cashel 28;
Navan 20,City of Derry 19;

Representative:Munster U20/U19 21,English Colleges 11;

Munster Junior Clubs Shield Final:Charleville 9,St. Mary’s 7;

Munster Junior League Division 1:Crosshaven 7,Clonmel 10;
Newport 14,Cobh Pirates 18;
Skibbereen 3,Richmond 30;

Division 2:Ennis 12,Newcastle West 11;
Kanturk 17,Youghal 17;
Muskerry 0,St. Senan’s 17;

Division 3 Section A:Castleisland 31,Presentation 0;
Killorglin 21,Kilrush 10;
Scariff 5,Killarney 44;

Section B:Douglas 17,Waterford City 11;
Dungarvan 8,Carrick-on-Suir 39;
Galbally 16,Fermoy 0;

Munster Seconds League Division 1B:Bruff 30,Young Munster 7;
Shannon 41,Highfield 15;

Division 2A:Dolphin 28,Nenagh Ormond 7;

Munster Junior 2 League Cup:Bandon 18,Thomond 14;
Cashel 21,Ballincollig 20;
Garryowen 27,Cork Constitution 5;

Webb Cup:Clonmel 6,Old Crescent 17;

Junior 2 Cup South:Corca Dhuibhne 11,Cobh Pirates 11;
Tralee 3,U.C.C. 8;

Dave Dineen Cup:Crosshaven 22,Carrigaline 8;
Old Christians 35,Castleisland 3;

Mick Barry Cup Semi Final:Skibbereen 20,Bantry Bay 3;

Junior 3 Cup South Semi Finals:Ballincolig 12,U.C.C. 11;
Kinsale 32,Mallow 13;

Tait Cup Semi Final:Fermoy 15,Listowel 3;

Gleeson Cup Semi Final:Waterford City 5,Galbally 32;

All Ireland Under 20 Cup Quarter Finals:U.C.C. 5,U.C.D. 12;

Division 2 Play Off:Waterpark 38,Richmond 10;

All Ireland Under 18 Cup Semi Final:Sligo 8,Highfield 20;

All Ireland Under 16 Cup Semi Final:Galwegians 22,Tralee 11;

South Under 16 B Cup:Highfield B 0,Cork Constitution 20;

South Under 16 West Cork Cup Semi Final:Bandon 27,Ballincollig 5;

South Under 14 Cup:Bandon 22,Cork Constitution 15;
Kanturk 5,Sunday’s Well 24;

South Under 14 B Cup:Bantry Bay 17,Crosshaven 29;
Dunmanway 46,Kinsale 17;

Women’s All Ireland League Division 1:Highfield 0,U.L. Bohemian 47;


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Find the latest ticket, travel and event information here for Munster Rugby’s BKT URC round 7 game against Glasgow Warriors in Musgrave Park on Friday,...