DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland U20s Squad

25th January 2010 By Munster Rugby

An Ireland Under-20 squad of 26 players has been named for the forthcoming Under-20 RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Coach Allen Clarke, has named 14 forwards and 12 backs in the squad with seven players having previously lined out for the U-20’s.

Ieland open their campaign with a fixture against Italy on Friday 5th February and will again make Dubarry Park in Athlone their home for the tournament.

Speaking of his selection Clarke said ‘the attitude of the players has been excellent, both in their individual attention and motivation while developing with their provincial rugby and fitness coaches and while playing for their clubs. The warm up games against the Provincial Development sides have provided the opportunity to develop our game and identify the areas we need to improve.’

‘We all recognize the potential of the squad while respecting the challenges ahead, the first of which is to start the Six Nations campaign against Italy at home with a good performance. Being the first game of the championship means we have little knowledge of the opposition so our concentration is to be accurate with and without the ball.’

A notable absence from a Munster point of view is academy player Brian O’Hara who featured for the U20s last season in Japan. Having recovered from his hamstiring injury picked up at the world championships, he recently damaged medial ligaments in a club training session and is due to be out of action for six weeks.

O’Hara’s fellow academy player and forward Dave O’Callaghan is included with sub-academy players Bryan Cagney, Brian Hayes and Patrick Butler. Munster’s only representative in the backs is Cork Con’s Simon Zebo who has featured for Munster A this season.

Ireland U-20 RBS 6 nations squad:

Andrew Conway (Blackrock/Leinster)
John Cooney (UCD/Leinster)*
Eoin Griffin (Corinthians/Connacht)
Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Darren Hudson (St. Mary’s /Leinster)
Brian Kingston (Blackrock/Leinster)
Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster)
James McKinney (Queens/Ulster)
David McSharry (UCD/Leinster)
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster)*
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Denis Buckley (Corinthians/Connacht)
Patrick Butler (Shannon/Munster)
Bryan Cagney (UCC/Munster)
David Doyle (UCD/Leinster)
Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution/Munster)*
Stewart Maguire (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ben Marshall (UCD/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Blackrock/Leinster)
Robin O’Sullivan (Bective/Leinster)
David O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster)*
Jack O’Connell (Lansdowne/Leinster)*
Rhys Ruddock (UCD/Leinster)*
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

* Denotes previously capped player at under-20 level.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News