DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

CBC and PBC on Collision Course in Junior Cup

4th February 2009 By Munster Rugby

CBC and PBC on Collision Course in Junior Cup

Old rivals C.B.C. and P.B.C. qualified to face each other in the semi final of the Avonmore Milk Munster Schools Junior Cup after victories over Ard Scoil Ris and Rockwell College.

C.B.C. 20 Ard Scoil Ris 10.
Christians had to dig deep to see off the challenge of an excellent Ard Scoil Ris at Rathcooney.
The game which only got the green light to go ahead ten minutes before the kick off was played in extremely difficult conditions and both sides must be complemented for providing an exciting tie with the result in doubt until the final minutes.
Playing with the elements in the opening half Cork College made a great start when their pack laid siege to the visitor’s line and were rewarded with a try after four minutes when Rob O’Dowling touched down.
Indeed it was Ard Scoil Ris who took the game to the Sydney Hill College, but despite their territorial advantage they never threatened to score.
A long clearance by Christians out half David O’Riordan, saw Evan O’Callaghan’s fly kick attempt being caught by John McCarthy and the winger raced away to score his side’s second try.
Four minutes before the break a sweeping backline movement saw winger Adam McCarthy out pace the defence to score under the posts for a 15-0 lead.
The Limerick side took control from the restart and a great foot rush involving Ciaran Power saw scrum half Colin Noonan touch down under the posts after five minutes and Luke McGrath converted.
McGrath closed the gap to five points with a penalty shortly after.
Despite constant pressure by the Limerick side, the Christians defence held firm and a great clearance by full back Niall Griffin lifted the siege with five minutes remaining. The Cork side worked the ball into the Ard Scoil Ris Twenty Two and prop Rory Burke broke away to score a fourth try for the winners.

Scorers: C.B.C.: R O’Dowling, J McCarthy, A McCarthy, R Burke tries.
Ard Scoil Ris: C Noonan try, L McGrath con, pen.
C.B.C.:N Griffin; J McCarthy, A Joyce, C O’Halloran, A McCarthy; D O’Riordan, E Geary; R Burke, C Slowey (capt), J Corbett; E Ahern, P Leahy; S Burke, R O’Dowling, M Lordon.
Replacements: C Martin for Corbett 55, T Morehead for O’Halloran 60.

Ard Scoil RĂ­s: C Mulqueen; P Reidy, A Fitzgerald, D Carroll, E O’Callaghan; A O’Byrne, C Noonan; L Guinnane, D O’Shea (capt), C Glynn; C Power, R Houlihan; M Foley, L McGrath, E Kennedy.
Replacements: P Kearns for R Houlihan HT, J O’Connor for Noonan 57, R Whyte for Mulqueen L McMahon for Fitzgerald both 60.
Referee: C McTaggart (M.A.R.).

P.B.C. 11 Rockwell College 3
Pres’ won their second game in five days in the Avonmore Milk Schools Junior Cup when they defeated Rockwell at C.I.T.
Pres took the lead with a penalty from Steven Dinan and the centre doubled the scores with his second effort shortly after.
Colman Kennedy reduced the lead with a penalty for Rockwell just before the half time whistle.
Pres’ full back Seamus Glynn made sure of victory with a second half try.

P.B.C.: S Dinan 2 pens, S Glynn try.
Rockwell: C Kennedy pen.

P.B.C.: S Glynn; B Crowley, S Dinan, G O’Callaghan, R Fenton; R Scannell, P O’Leary; H O’Halloran, D Keohane, R Callanan; R McCarthy, I Silke; M Curtin, W Foley, J Fitzgerald (capt).
Rockwell College: D Johnston, G Henry, R Maher, A Lynch, R Boland; C Kennedy, TJ Ryan; W O’Dwyer, K Lyons, E Phelan; D Foley, K Drew; J Houlihan, A Butler, S Dwyer (capt).
Replacements: P Kennedy for O’Dwyer, K Maher for Lyons, C Summers for Butler, A Barron for Ryan, P Quirke for Kennedy and L Murchan for Henry.
Referee: D Keane (M.A.R.).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Watch our first interview with new Attack Coach Mike Prendergast as he returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where...