DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team News | Munster Men’s Side To Face Barbarians

29th September 2023 By The Editor

Brian Gleeson is set to make his first senior appearance.

Brian Gleeson is set to make his first senior appearance.

The Munster men’s team has been named for the side’s first-ever clash against the Barbarians at Thomond Park on Saturday (4.30pm).

Buy match tickets here.

The game is part of a double-header with the Munster women’s side taking on the Barbarians at 2pm – see team news here.

We are pleased to confirm that there will be an Access Munster live stream, brought to you by Pinergy, of both games. See full details and sign-up here.

Munster Academy players Ethan Coughlan, Edwin Edogbo, Shay McCarthy, Tony Butler, Mark Donnelly, Brian Gleeson and Fionn Gibbons are all included in the squad.

Edogbo starts on his first senior appearance of 2023/24 with 19-year-old Gleeson in line for his senior Munster debut after joining the Academy over the summer.

Garryowen clubman Gleeson came up through the ranks at Thurles RFC and Rockwell College and starred for the Grand Slam-winning Ireland U20s last season.

Tom Ahern is included among the replacements and set for his first appearance of the campaign.

Shane Daly starts at full-back with McCarthy and Calvin Nash on either wing.

The half-back and centre partnerships are unchanged from last week’s win over Connacht. Scrum-half Coughlan and out-half Joey Carbery start together again with Rory Scannell and Antoine Frisch in midfield.

Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Edogbo and Fineen Wycherley in the engine room.

Captain Jack O’Donoghue, Jack Daly and Gavin Coombes complete the side with Daly making his first start of the campaign.

Niall Scannell, Donnelly and John Ryan provide the front row back-up with Ahern and Gleeson completing the forward cover.

Neil Cronin, Butler and Gibbons are the backline replacements.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the double-header here.

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Jack Daly, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Mark Donnelly, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, Brian Gleeson, Neil Cronin, Tony Butler, Fionn Gibbons.

Press Pass

Hear from Munster Women’s Head Coach Niamh Briggs and Men’s Head Coach Graham Rowntree ahead of the double-header.


Related News

The Munster team has been named for our URC semi-final against Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park on Saturday (6pm). Over 18,500 tickets have already been...