DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

All You Need To Know | URC Grand Final

26th May 2023 By The Editor

Jean Kleyn with Stormers out-half Manie Libbok.

Jean Kleyn with Stormers out-half Manie Libbok. Inpho

Munster are back in the URC Grand Final for the fourth time in nine years and face DHL Stormers in Cape Town on Saturday looking to capture the league title for the first time since 2011.

Read the Munster team announcement here.

The province upset the odds to defeat Glasgow and Leinster away from home in the quarter-finals and semi-finals after finishing the regular season in fifth place.

This is Munster’s sixth away game on the bounce and third trip to South Africa in eight weeks with our last five matches in Durban, Cape Town, Durban (again), Glasgow and Dublin.

Reigning champions Stormers finished third in the table and beat Bulls and Connacht at DHL Stadium to earn their place in the final.

See full details ahead of the game below.


DHL Stadium, Cape Town


Saturday, May 27, 6.30pm local/5.30pm Irish time


Live on: TG4, Premier Sports, SuperSport, Viaplay, Discovery +, FloRugby.com & URC.tv


Dry, 12°C with a moderate breeze.


DHL Stormers: Damian Willemse; Angelo Davids, Ruhan Nel, Dan du Plessis, Leolin Zas; Manie Libbok, Herschel Jantjies; Steven Kitshoff (C), Joseph Dweba, Frans Malherbe; Ruben van Heerden, Marvin Orie; Deon Fourie, Hacjivah Dayimani, Evan Roos.

Replacements: JJ Kotze, Ali Vermaak, Neethling Fouche, Ben-Jason Dixon, Willie Engelbrecht, Marcel Theunissen, Paul de Wet, Clayton Blommetjies.

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, RG Snyman, Alex Kendellen, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Keith Earls

Munster News

Travelling Squad Named

URC Season So Far

Munster To Play Double-Header Against Barbarians

Video | Road To URC Final

Did you know?

Munster and DHL Stormers have averaged more offloads per 80 minutes than any other teams in the URC: 10.75 and 11.4 respectively.

Shane Daly made more offloads against Leinster than any other player in the semi-finals – five in total.

Gavin Coombes and Mike Haley made more carries than any other players in the semi-finals, 20 apiece.

Coombes has made the most carries in the league this season, a total of 231.

Munster have made an average of 131 carries per 80 minutes this season – more than any other team.

Match Officials

Referee: Andrea Piardi

AR 1: Mike Adamson

AR 2: Craig Evans

TMO: Ben Whitehouse


Related News

There are five Munster representatives on the list of URC award winners for the 2023/24 season with Jack Crowley, Graham Rowntree, Shane Daly, Tadhg Beirne...