DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Stormers In URC Grand Final

May 26, 2023 11:55 am By The Editor

Team Named | Munster Side To Face Stormers In URC Grand Final

Malakai Fekitoa and Antoine Frisch ©INPHO

The Munster side has been named for Saturday’s URC Grand Final against Stormers at the DHL Stadium (6.30pm local/5.30pm Irish).

There are three personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that won away to Leinster in the semi-final.

Conor Murray, Malakai Fekitoa and Calvin Nash return to the side after completing their return to play protocols following the quarter-final against Glasgow.

Murray and Jack Crowley start together in the half-backs as Crowley moves from inside centre to out-half.

Fekitoa resumes his centre partnership with Antoine Frisch in midfield as Nash joins full-back Mike Haley and Shane Daly to start in the back three.

The pack is unchanged with Captain Peter O’Mahony joined by John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes in the back row.

Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row while Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne start in the engine room.

RG Snyman joins the squad as a replacement.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, RG Snyman, Alex Kendellen, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Keith Earls.

Press Pass

Hear from Defence Coach Denis Leamy and Jean Kleyn ahead of the game.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Win Incredible URC Decider

May 27, 2023 10:10 pm By The Editor

The Munster squad celebrate in the dressing room.

The Munster squad celebrate in the dressing room. Inpho

Munster ended a dozen barren years by claiming the BKT United Rugby Championship title with a superb victory in Cape Town as Graham Rowntree’s first season in charge ended in glory.

by John Fallon

John Hodnett’s try four minutes from time secured a fourth title for Munster and it was a thoroughly deserved success after dominating possession on a heavy pitch in front of 55,000 fans at DHL Stadium.

The several thousand Munster fans who made the long journey to South Africa had plenty of cause to be in full voice from the outset as the Reds got on top from the start and completed a remarkable sequence of results after being away from home for the closing six matches of the season.

And Munster did it despite losing captain Peter O’Mahony six minutes before the break to a head injury but the Cork man was on hand afterwards to collect his first silverware for Munster after a tense finish.

The reigning champions got a glorious start when out-half Manie Libbok intercepted a pass from Antoine Frisch to run in a try from deep after six minutes, which the Springbok converted for a 7-0 lead.

But Munster are used to dealing with adversity at the business end of this season and they did not panic. They got back in contention with a try off a lineout, when they got the drive after a take from Tadhg Beirne before hooker Diarmuid Barron got over. Jack Crowley was narrowly off target with the touchline conversion from the left.

Stormers lost No.8 Evan Roos to a yellow card after 19 minutes and Munster, who enjoyed 67% possession in the opening half, piled on the pressure.

Remarkably, they got over three times and on each occasion the score was scratched, with efforts from Gavin Coombes, Shane Daly and Mike Haley ruled out on review.

But they finally got over in the final phase with the extra man with a superbly weighted crosskick from Crowley bounced kindly for Calvin Nash to race in and score, with Crowley’s conversion making it 12-7 at the break.

Springbok RG Snyman came on to replace O’Mahony but it was the champions who got on top after the restart. Libbok missed a penalty before a superb tackle by full-back Mike Haley on his opposite number Damian Willemse ended a dangerous attack from Stormers.

Munster lost Haley to a yellow card shortly afterwards after he was adjudged to have fouled Angelo Davids, with Stormers scoring off a lineout shortly afterwards when Deon Fourie got over, with Libbok’s conversion making it 14-12 after 50 minutes.

Stormers, who lost their two-year unbeaten home record last month when Munster triumphed 26-23, enjoyed a lot of possession after that but superb defending ensured they did not score again.

And it was Munster who had the resolve in the closing stages to push on and claim their trophy when they piled on the pressure and a move which culminated in Craig Casey, Crowley, Haley and Shane Daly creating the opening was ended with Hodnett scoring in the left corner to edge Munster 17-14 in front.

Crowley then landed the difficult conversion from the left to ensure Stormers needed a try in the closing stages, but that never looked like materialising despite a couple of penalties to either corner with Munster, who lost Crowley to a late yellow card, securing the title when Beirne forced a superb turnover inside his own 22 to spark off great celebrations with the first silverware since 2011.

Munster: Mike Haley, Calvin Nash (Keith Earls 70), Antoine Frisch (Ben Healy 62), Malakai Fekitoa, Shane Daly, Jack Crowley, Conor Murray (Craig Casey 66), Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley 62), Diarmuid Barron (Niall Scannell 62), Stephen Archer (Roman Salanoa 62), Jean Kleyn (Alex Kendellen 69), Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (capt.) (RG Snyman 34), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

URC Grand Final Round-Up

John Hodnett was named player of the match.

Munster are the URC champions 🙂

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups