DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

All You Need To Know | Glasgow Warriors v Munster

4th May 2023 By The Editor

Gavin Coombes at training on Tuesday.

Gavin Coombes at training on Tuesday. Inpho

Munster face Glasgow Warriors in the URC quarter-final this weekend in a huge game for both sides.

Read the Munster team announcement here.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the match below.


Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow


Saturday, 7.35pm


Live on RTÉ, SuperSport, Viaplay, Premier Sports, Discovery +, FloRugby.com & URC TV.


13°, possible showers.


Glasgow Warriors: Ollie Smith; Sebastian Cancelliere, Sione Tuipulotu, Stafford McDowall, Kyle Steyn (C); Tom Jordan, George Horne; Jamie Bhatti, Johnny Matthews, Zander Fagerson; Scott Cummings, Richie Gray; Matt Fagerson, Rory Darge, Jack Dempsey.

Replacements: Fraser Brown, Nathan McBeth, Simon Berghan, JP du Preez, Lewis Bean, Sione Vailanu, Ali Price, Huw Jones.

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, RG Snyman; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, Fineen Wycherley, John Hodnett, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Alex Kendellen.

Munster News

Gallery | Click here for Tuesday’s best training pics

Squad Update

Munster A Highlights

Did you know?

Glasgow are unbeaten at Scotstoun this season and have won their last six matches in all competitions, earning a place in the Challenge Cup final.

Their most recent defeat at home in any competition was when La Rochelle were the visitors in the Champions Cup in January 2022.

Munster’s only loss in their last eight URC matches was against Glasgow at Thomond Park in March.

Graham Rowntree’s side have not been defeated away from home in the URC since October and had the best defensive record in the URC regular season.

Extra-Time & Place-Kick Competition

If the game is a tie at full-time, see details of extra-time below.

Extra Time

  • A 5-minute break will take place between full-time and extra-time
  • Extra-time consists of 2 periods of 10 minutes each
  • A break of 1 minute will take place between the ET periods
  • If the score is equal after ET then the team who has scored the most tries will be the winner
  • If the score and tries scored are equal after ET a place-kick competition will take place

Place Kicking

  • Coin tosses will decide which end the kicks take place and which team goes first
  • Each team will select three kickers who each take two kicks at goal
  • Each kicker has 1 minute to strike the ball
  • Each team has a total of six kicks at goal
  • The kicks will take place from six designated marks between the 22m and 10 metre lines

Sudden Death

  • Sudden death will occur if the score is level after each team has taken 6 kicks
  • All sudden death kicks will take place from the centre of the 10-metre line

Press Pass

Hear from Defence Coach Denis Leamy and RG Snyman ahead of the game.

Match Officials

Referee: Andrea Piardi

AR 1: Adam Jones

AR 2: Manuel Bottino

TMO: Matteo Liperini


Related News

Take a look at the stats from the 2023/24 season which saw the Munster's Women's squad reach the Interpro final and the men's squad reach...