DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Match Pages - Match Information

Current standing

Match Pages - Current Standing

Head to head

Match Pages - Head to Head

Last time

Match Pages - Last Time

Recent form

Match Pages - Form Guide

Season so far

Match Page - Season so far

Team Named | Munster Side For URC Quarter-Final

May 5, 2023 11:50 am By The Editor

RG Snyman in action against the Stormers.

RG Snyman in action against the Stormers. Inpho

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s URC quarter-final against Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun (7.35pm, live on RTÉ & Premier Sports).

See what’s been happening behind-the-scenes on Access Munster here.

There are two changes to the side that drew with Sharks in Durban two weeks ago as Munster look to become the first visiting team to win at Scotstoun this season.

Both switches are in the pack as RG Snyman comes into the second row and Tadhg Beirne starts at blindside flanker.

Beirne makes his first Munster appearance since January after recovering from an ankle injury sustained in February during the 6 Nations.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Calvin Nash and Shane Daly on either flank.

Malakai Fekitoa and Antoine Frisch form the centre partnership as Conor Murray and Jack Crowley start in the half-backs.

Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Snyman in the engine room.

Beirne, captain Peter O’Mahony and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

Niall Scannell, Roman Salanoa and John Hodnett all come into the squad as replacements after recovering from knocks.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, RG Snyman; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, Fineen Wycherley, John Hodnett, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Alex Kendellen.

Press Pass

Hear from Defence Coach Denis Leamy and RG Snyman ahead of the game.

Munster - Match Page - Lineups - Preview

Report | Munster Beat Glasgow To Earn Semi-Final Place

May 6, 2023 10:14 pm By The Editor

Malakai Fekitoa scores the first Munster try.

Malakai Fekitoa scores the first Munster try. Inpho

Munster are into the URC semi-finals after a bruising quarter-final win over Glasgow at Scotstoun, becoming the first away side to win at Glasgow all season.

Malakai Fekitoa and Antoine Frisch scored both Munster tries in the first half with Jack Crowley kicking the two conversions.

A red card for Glasgow out-half Tom Jordan was a blow for the hosts but they kept the pressure on Munster in the second half with Kyle Steyn touching down.

The victory came at a price with Peter O’Mahony, RG Snyman, Conor Murray, Diarmuid Barron, Calvin Nash and Malakai Fekiota all departing with knocks.

Munster will face Leinster in the semi-finals next Saturday at the Aviva Stadium with a 5.30pm kick-off. Tickets will go on general sale on Tuesday.

Glasgow started off on the front foot with Sione Tuipulotu making a break in midfield past the injured O’Mahony but Jack Crowley got back to disrupt the offload to Jack Dempsey and make the clearance.

O’Mahony departed for Hodnett after just five minutes with the returning Tadhg Beirne taking over the captaincy.

Munster repelled a number of Glasgow lineout mauls deep in our 22 with the defence superb.

RG Snyman went off for a HIA on 17 minutes with Fineen Wycherley coming on as Glasgow kept attacking with Jack Dempsey held up on 19 minutes.

Fekitoa instigated the first Munster try after his well-timed tackle led to a turnover and the centre finished off Munster’s first attack on 22 minutes, spinning to slam down.

Crowley converted and Munster led 7-0.

When Murray picked up a loose ball on the left wing and raced clear, Glasgow out-half Jordan’s high tackle led to a red card with Murray going for a HIA as Craig Casey entered the fray on 25 minutes.

Munster went to the corner and Frisch got in for the second Munster try from close range on 27 minutes.

The visitors stayed on top as Calvin Nash made a break and chipped over the top to earn a five-yard scrum but Glasgow defended well against waves of Munster pressure and were relieved to only trail by 14 at the interval.

A fourth Munster player to be replaced due to a knock saw Diarmuid Barron go off for Niall Scannell after 41 minutes.

The majority of the second half was spent on the back foot with Glasgow winning a number of scrum penalties.

The tireless Jean Kleyn came up with a vital choke tackle to win back possession when Glasgow looked dangerous on 45 minutes.

Huge Munster defence in the maul and at close quarters on 54 minutes eventually forced a knock-on but Glasgow then won two scrum penalties.

Craig Casey and Tadhg Beirne wrapped up George Horne to earn a scrum with replacement Josh Wycherley winning the scrum penalty against Zander Fagerson.

A scrum penalty against Munster on 65 minutes gave Glasgow another attacking opportunity as they kicked up to the Munster 22 and mauled to within 10 metres.

Calvin Nash departed with a knock sustained tackling Tuipulotu with Fekitoa returning in the centre as Crowley moved to full-back and Haley went to the wing.

Glasgow were back in the game when Kyle Steyn scored in the left corner after Beirne nearly intercepted a pass in midfield with Huw Jones giving the final pass.

The all-important conversion was off target and Munster led 14-5 with 12 minutes remaining.

The visitors ended on the front foot with Tuipulotu’s high tackle on Fekitoa forcing the centre off late on as Munster saw out the game on the attack

URC Quarter-Final Round-Up

Gavin Coombes was named Player of the Match.

Tadhg Beirne returned from injury for his first Munster appearance since January.

Peter O’Mahony, RG Snyman, Conor Murray, Diarmuid Barron, Calvin Nash and Malakai Fekitoa all departed with knocks and will be assessed by the medical department.

Munster will play Leinster in the URC semi-finals on Saturday, May 13, at the Aviva Stadium (5.30pm).

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash (HIA, Malakai Fekitoa, 66) (HIA, Jeremy Loughman, 78), Antoine Frisch, Malakai Fekitoa (Ben Healy, 56), Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray (HIA, Craig Casey, 25); Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley, 59), Diarmuid Barron (inj, Niall Scannell, 41), Stephen Archer (Roman Salanoa, 62); Jean Kleyn (Alex Kendellen, 72), RG Snyman (HIA, Fineen Wycherley, 17); Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C) (inj, John Hodnett, 5), Gavin Coombes.

Match Pages - Summary

Match Page - Timeline

Match page - Match Stats

Match Page - Lineups