DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Beirne And Murray In Lions Squad For Sharks Clash

5th July 2021 By sean geary

Lions squad for Sharks named. Tadhg Beirne is set to make his second appearance for the Lions on Wednesday.

Tadhg Beirne is set to make his second appearance for the Lions on Wednesday. Inpho

Munster’s Tadhg Beirne and Conor Murray have been named in the British & Irish Lions squad to take on Cell C Sharks at Emirates Airline Park on Wednesday (6pm Irish time).

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby, Wales) and Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales) will make their Lions debuts in the clash.

Ireland lock, Iain Henderson (Ulster Rugby, Ireland), will captain the Lions for the first time, while Tour Captain Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland), is named amongst the replacements.

The game, which will be shown live and exclusively on Sky Sports, is the second of eight Tour matches in the 2021 Castle Lager Lions Series which culminates with three Tests against World Champions, the Springboks.

“It’s a quick turnaround from Saturday, but we’ll be ready to go by Wednesday night,” said Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“I’m pleased we managed to come through the weekend’s game unscathed, and the boys have rested and recovered well. We feel like we’re slowly building, but, as ever, there’s still room for improvement in all facets of our game.

“Wednesday night is another chance for us to have a look at a few more combinations. I’m looking forward to seeing how the back row goes; it’s an exciting mixture and one that we hope will offer something a bit different.

“We expect another physical test against a side who are known for their power play and ambition.

“My congratulations to Tom, Josh and Adam ahead of their first starts in a Lions jersey.”


Wednesday 7 July 2021

Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg

Kick-off: 6pm

15 Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) #833

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England) #816

13 Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) #822

12 Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) #837

11 Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #841

10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) #821

9 Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales) #850

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England) #787

2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) #851

3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) #848

4 Iain Henderson – Captain (Ulster Rugby, Ireland) #808

5 Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales)

6 Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby, Wales)

7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England)

8 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England) #849


16 Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales) #829

17 Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland) #840

18 Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #818

19 Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #838

20 Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) #839

21 Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland) #790

22 Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland) #783

23 Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland) #844

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU