DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team Named | Munster A Side To Face Connacht A

25th September 2020 By The Editor

Mike Haley, Rhys Marshall and Jack O’Donoghue all start

Mike Haley, Rhys Marshall and Jack O’Donoghue all start with O'Donoghue captaining the side. INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

An extended Munster A squad has been named for Saturday’s Interprovincial against Connacht Eagles at Thomond Park (3pm).

Following on from last weekend’s victory at the Sportsground this Saturday’s game sees a move towards further integration of the senior squad with the opportunity for players to get game time ahead of the Guinness PRO14 commencing next week.

This is the first time Munster will line out at the Limerick venue since the Guinness PRO14 encounter against Scarlets on 29 February.

Jack O’Donoghue will captain the side at no. 8, and he is flanked by Tadhg Beirne and Jack O’Sullivan.

After recovering from his recent neck injury Jean Kleyn packs down with Gavin Coombes in the second row as James Cronin, Rhys Marshall and John Ryan form the front row.

A young half-back pairing sees Craig Casey join Academy out-half Ben Healy this week, with Chris Farrell and Rory Scannell forming the centre partnership.

Mike Haley makes his first appearance since February as he starts at full-back with Calvin Nash and Darren Sweetnam on either flank.

There will be a live stream of the clash on the Munster Rugby YouTube channel. Subscribe here now.

Munster A:  Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Ben Healy, Craig Casey; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Gavin Coombes; Tadhg Beirne, Jack O’Sullivan, Jack O’Donoghue (C).

Replacements from: Kevin O’Byrne, Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Jeremy Loughman, Roman Salanoa, Stephen Archer, Thomas Ahern, Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland, Jack Daly, Peter O’Mahony, Chris Cloete, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander, Nick McCarthy, Neil Cronin, Jack Crowley, JJ Hanrahan, Shane Daly, Damian de Allende, Alex McHenry, Liam Coombes, Jake Flannery, Matt Gallagher.

Training Gallery | View here.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Nine players will join the Munster Rugby senior squad this summer with four new additions and five players stepping up from the Academy. Thaakir Abrahams,...