DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Team Named | Munster A Side To Face Leinster A

10th January 2019 By The Editor

Bill Johnston starts at out-half for Munster A.

Bill Johnston starts at out-half for Munster A.

The Munster A side has been named for Friday’s Interpro clash against Leinster at Thomond Park (January 11, 2pm, free entry).

The game will be streamed live on Munster Rugby’s Youtube channel, you can subscribe here.

A mix of senior, Academy and club players have been named in the Munster squad with Kevin O’Byrne captaining the side.

Alex Wootton starts at full-back with Calvin Nash and Ronan O’Mahony on the wings completing a senior back three.

Academy duo Alex McHenry and Matt More team up in the centres.

Senior players Neil Cronin and Bill Johnston are named in the half-backs.

Liam O’Connor makes his first appearance in a Munster jersey since sustaining an injury in PRO14 action back in November 2017 with O’Byrne and Ciaran Parker completing the front row.

Academy man Sean O’Connor and senior player Darren O’Shea partner up in the engine room.

Cork Constitution’s David Hyland, senior player Conor Oliver and Academy no.8 Gavin Coombes complete the side.

Senior players Mike Sherry and Ian Keatley are among the replacements along with the Academy’s Keynan Knox, Jack Stafford and Liam Coombes.

UCC duo Shane O’Hanlon and John Hodnett are also named in the squad along with Waterpark RFC’s Eoin O’Connor.

Munster: Alex Wootton; Calvin Nash, Matt More, Alex McHenry, Ronan O’Mahony; Bill Johnston, Neil Cronin; Liam O’Connor, Kevin O’Byrne (C), Ciaran Parker; Sean O’Connor, Darren O’Shea; David Hyland, Conor Oliver, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Shane O’Hanlon, Keynan Knox, Eoin O’Connor, John Hodnett, Jack Stafford, Ian Keatley, Liam Coombes.

Leinster: Rob Russell; Gavin Mullin, Jimmy O’Brien, David Hawkshaw, Tommy O’Brien; Harry Byrne, Patrick Patterson; Peter Dooley, Ronan Kelleher (C), Vakh Abdaladze; Oisín Dowling, Josh Murphy; Martin Moloney, Scott Penny, Ronan Watters.

Replacements: Daniel Sheehan, Michael Milne, Jack Aungier, Brian Deeney, Cian Prendergast, Cormac Foley, Liam Turner, Hugo Conway.

Challenge Match – Friday, January 11

Munster A v Leinster A, Thomond Park, 2pm; Streamed live on Youtube here.

Referee: Stuart Gaffikin


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster squad are continuing preparations in Pretoria ahead of Saturday's URC Round 14 clash against Vodacom Bulls (4.05pm Irish time/5.05pm local, live on RTÉ...