DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Farrell and Sweetnam Included in Ireland Squad

26th October 2017 By The Editor

Darren Sweetnam and Chris Farrell in action against Cardiff Blues. Both players have been included in the Ireland squad.

Darren Sweetnam and Chris Farrell both included in today's Ireland squad. INPHO/Billy Stickland

Chris Farrell and Darren Sweetnam are two of four uncapped players named in today’s 38 player squad for the Guinness Series which sees Ireland take on South Africa, Fiji and Argentina in the Aviva Stadium in November.

The uncapped duo are two of eleven Munster representatives named in the squad.

Dave Kilcoyne, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, John Ryan and CJ Stander have been named among the forwards, while joining Farrell and Sweetnam in the backs are Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Ian Keatley and Conor Murray.

Ireland face the Springboks for the first time since the 2016 Summer Tour where Ireland recorded a first ever victory on South African soil at Newlands but ultimately lost the series decider. Earlier this month the Boks came within a point of beating the All Blacks in their final game of this year’s Rugby Championship having twice drawn with Australia and recorded victories home and away against the Pumas.

Fiji come to Ireland as the reigning Pacific Nations Cup champions and have secured qualification for Rugby World Cup 2019 by virtue of being the top team in the region over the course of the past two seasons.

The final game of the Guinness Series sees Ireland square off against Argentina. The two sides have not met since the RWC quarter-final in Cardiff in October 2015.

Ireland Squad – Guinness Series 2017

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) Captain104 caps
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 4 caps
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 16 caps
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 70 caps
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 32 caps
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 1 cap
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 20 caps
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 41 caps
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 49 caps
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 40 caps
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 16 caps
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 9 caps
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 15 caps
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 50 caps
James Tracey (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) 2 caps

BACKS (17)
Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) uncapped
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster) uncapped
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 4 caps
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 3 caps
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 62 caps
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) uncapped
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 29 caps
Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 16 caps
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 76 caps
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 16 caps
Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/UIster) 1 cap
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 57 caps
Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 66 caps
Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 2 caps
Darren Sweetnam (Cork Constitution/Munster) uncapped

2017 Guinness Series Fixtures

IRELAND v South Africa
Saturday 11th November, KO 17.30
Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Saturday 18th November, KO 17.30
Aviva Stadium, Dublin

IRELAND v Argentina
Saturday 25th November, KO 17.30
Aviva Stadium, Dublin

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU