DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Lions Starts For Murray & O’Mahony

8th June 2017 By The Editor

Munster, Ireland and Lions duo Conor Murray and Peter O

Munster, Ireland and Lions duo Conor Murray and Peter O'Mahony. ©INPHO/James Crombie

British and Irish Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland has named his side for the Saturday’s clash with the Crusaders at the AMI Stadium – KO 8.35am (Irish).

Three Munster players are named in the side with second-time tourist and Series winner against Australia, Conor Murray, set to make his first appearance of the Tour after being named at 9.

Peter O’Mahony who made his Lions debut off the bench in the loss to the Blues last Saturday is promoted to the number 6 jersey, while his fellow debutant at Eden Park, try scorer CJ Stander, is named among the replacements.

Joining the Munster contingent in the matchday squad are their Irish counterparts Tadgh Furlong, Sean O’Brien, Jack McGrath and Johnny Sexton.

Commenting on the announcement, Gatland said, “The aim was always to start everyone in the first three matches and this selection ensures that we achieve this.

“This is an experienced team with nine of the starting 15 players having featured in 2013.

“Our squad is working hard and we are seeing improvement in their performances both at training and in the games.

“Last night’s results against the Blues was disappointing and we know we can’t afford to give away so many penalties.

“We are looking forward to the clash against the Crusaders and we expect a tough game against the most successful team in Super Rugby history.”

British & Irish Lions (v Crusaders, Saturday, June 10, AMI Stadium, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST)

15 Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, 783
14 George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, #792
13 Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, #778
12 Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England, #815
11 Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales, #832
10 Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, #780
9 Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland, #790

1 Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, #787
2 Jamie George – Saracens, England, #818
3 Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland, #817
4 Alun Wyn Jones (capt) – Ospreys, Wales, #761
5 George Kruis – Saracens, England, #819
6 Peter O’Mahony – Munster, Ireland, #833
7 Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland, #796
8 Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, #779

16 Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, #829
17 Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, #827
18 Dan Cole – Leicester, England, #794
19 Maro Itoje – Saracens, England, #825
20 CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, #831
21 Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, #820
22 Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, #791
23 Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England, #816

DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU