DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Strong Munster A Side Named For Midleton

14th October 2016 By Munster Rugby

Strong Munster A Side Named For Midleton

A strong side has been named for Munster A’s British and Irish Cup opener against London Welsh at Midleton RFC tomorrow with Head Coach Peter Malone including the likes of captain Cian Bohane, Tomás O’Leary and Andrew Conway alongside a wealth of emerging provincial talent.

A total of twelve players are in line to make their B&I Cup debuts for the province with Malone selecting players from across the senior, academy and club ranks.
Four debutants will start in the pack – John Madigan and the academy trio of Vincent O’Brien, John Foley and Gavin Coombes.
Madigan has overcome the injuries that curtailed his competitive involvement in previous seasons and starts in the second row alongside Darren O’Shea while hooker O’Brien joins Peter McCabe and academy tighthead Rory Burke in the front row.
Foley and Coombes will join their academy colleague Sean O’Connor in the back row.
A further three debutants for Munster A in the B&I Cup are seen across the backline including Irish international Tomás O’Leary, former Leinster A playmaker Steve Crosbie and Trinity fullback Colm Hogan.
The experienced O’Leary and new signing Crosbie form the half back partnership with captain Cian Bohane and David Johnston taking charge in midfield.
Andrew Conway and Alex Wotton start on the flanks with Hogan completing the back three.
Included among the replacements, the academy’s Fineen Wycherley and Calvin Nash and club talents Peter Kelleher (UL Bohs), Niall Mulcahy (Shannon) and Abrie Griesel (Young Munster )are all in line to make their B&I Cup debuts for the province.
Munster A: Colm Hogan; Andrew Conway, David Johnston, Cian Bohane – capt., Alex Wootton; Steve Crosbie, Tomás O’Leary; Peter McCabe, Vincent O’Brien, Rory Burke; John Madigan. Darren O’Shea; Sean O’Connor, John Foley, Gavin Coombes.
Replacements: Liam O’Connor, Peter Kelleher, Niall Mulcahy, Fineen Wycherley, Abrie Griesel, Calvin Nash, Steven McMahon.
Munster A v London Welsh, British and Irish Cup round 1, Saturday Octpber 15th at Midleton RFC – ko 2.30pm.
Entry is free for all MRSC and 10 Year ticket holders on production of membership cards or season tickets.
Click here for full Matchday Information.
For live updates follow @munsterrugby #BICup



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster ran in six tries to oust Glasgow Warriors in an entertaining BTK United Rugby Championship contest in front of a full house at Musgrave...