DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Counting Down To Cardiff

6th September 2016 By Munster Rugby

Counting Down To Cardiff

Guinness PRO12 rugby returns to Cork this Friday with Munster facing Cardiff Blues, who, following their bonus-point win over Edinburgh on Saturday, have won 11 of their last 15 PRO12 games dating back to December 2015.

Munster for their part return to Irish Independent Park where they have won their last three PRO12 matches, and historically, have always been strong starters, losing just once in the opening two rounds since 2009.
The Munstermen have won their last four home games in both venues (Cork and Limerick), but have been defeated just once at Irish Independent Park in their last fourteen matches, losing 17-21 to Ospreys in February.
Recruiting the likes of Steve Shingler from Scarlets and former Munster player Nick Williams from Ulster, Cardiff’s 37-28 victory at Cardiff Arms Park in Round 12 last season ended a run of five successive Munster victories in this fixture.  In fact, the Welshmen’s solitary loss in their last seven PRO12 fixtures was 27-40 to Ospreys on “Judgement Day” at Principality Stadium in April.
Giving Munster even more reason to be wary of their opposition this weekend is the fact that Cardiff are the only visiting side to have won on three separate occasions in Cork in the PRO12, in seasons 2006/07, 2007/08 and 2012/13.
Munster v Cardiff Blues, Guinness PRO12 Round 2, Friday September 9th at Irish Independent Park, Cork – ko 7.35pm.
Kick off your weekend by cheering on Munster under Friday Night Lights!

Adult tickets from €;20 and Family tickets from €;40 (2 adults & 2 juniors) can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.

Match Packs
Tickets can also be bought as part of Match Packs – select a minimum of 3 games and save 10% across the cost of all tickets. Click here to start building your Match Pack now.
Referee:  Ian Davies (WRU, 50th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Craig Evans (WRU), Nigel Correll (IRFU)
Citing Commissioner: Gordon Black (IRFU)
TMO: Jim Yuille (SRU)

Date Venue M C Munster scorers Cardiff Blues scorers
Sat 23 Nov 13 BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park 31 10 James Cronin(T) Andrew Conway(T) JJ Hanrahan(4C/P) Felix Jones(T) Damien Varley(T) Kristian Dacey(T) Simon Humberstone(C/P)
Sat 8 Feb 14 Thomond Park 54 13 CJ Stander(T) Dave Kilcoyne(T) Andrew Conway(T) JJ Hanrahan(6C/4P) Penalty Try(T) Gerhard van den Heever(T) Simon Zebo(T) Gareth Davies(C/2P) Owen Williams(T)
Sat 1 Nov 14 BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park 28 24 Johnny Holland(C) Paddy Butler(T) JJ Hanrahan(7P) Rhys Patchell(3P) Gareth Davies(C/P) Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino(T) Manoa Vosawai(T)
Sat 14 Feb 15 Irish Independent Park 33 16 Jack O'Donoghue(T) Ronan O'Mahony(T) JJ Hanrahan(3C/4P) Denis Hurley(T) Rhys Patchell(C/3P) Josh Navidi(T)
Sat 17 Oct 15 Irish Independent Park 35 27 Andrew Conway(T) Jordan Coghlan(T) Mike Sherry(2T) Ian Keatley(T/5C) Rhys Patchell(3C/2P) Richard Smith(T) Tavis Knoyle(T) Tom Isaacs(T)
Fri 18 Mar 16 BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park 28 37 Johnny Holland(C/P) Jack O'Donoghue(T) Darren Sweetnam(T) Mike Sherry(T) Ian Keatley(C/2P) Rhys Patchell(T/4C/2P) Macauley Cook(T) Jarrod Evans(P) Matthew Rees(T) Garyn Smith(T)



DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby and the IRFU are pleased to confirm the signing of 25-year-old back three player Thaakir Abrahams on a two-year deal. An extremely fast...