DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Strong Side Named For Worcester Clash

25th August 2016 By Munster Rugby

Strong Side Named For Worcester Clash

Internationals James Cronin, Tommy O’Donnell and Simon Zebo will line out for Munster in Cork this Friday with injury returnee Tyler Bleyendaal and new signing Jean Kleyn also included in Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus’ starting XV to face Worcester Warriors at Irish Independent Park.

As with the opening encounter of Kearys Renault Series in Waterford, Erasmus again names an extended squad of 29 with four emerging academy talents in line to see some game time.  Tomorrow’s encounter at 7pm marks the province’s final action before the commencement of the competitive season.
Off the back of last weekend’s 17-0 win over Zebre, Cronin comes in to join Niall Scannell and John Ryan in the front row while, on the day he turns 23, South African Kleyn makes his first Munster appearance in partnering captain Billy Holland in the second row.
O’Donnell joins the back row at openside with Dave O’Callaghan and Jack O’Donoghue remaining in situ at 6 and 8 respectively.
Overcoming a quad injury that saw him make just five competitive appearances last season, Tyler Bleyendaal returns to partner Duncan Williams in the half backs, while in midfield, a new pairing sees Rory Scannell team up with academy player Dan Goggin, the latter making his first senior start.
Last weekend’s try scorers Darren Sweetnam and Ronan O’Mahony remain on the wings with Zebo taking charge at full-back.
A further three academy talents – Brian Scott, Conor Oliver and Stephen Fitzgerald – are included on the bench with recent academy graduate Alex Wootton set to win his first senior cap tomorrow night. 
Colm O’Shea, who started last weekend’s clash with Zebre, is also named on the bench and Munster can today confirm the former Leinster centre has signed a short-term three month contract with the province.
Meanwhile, on the injury front, hooker Mike Sherry has undergone a procedure on his back and will be side-lined for approximately 3 to 4 months.
Munster XV: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland – capt., Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.
Replacements from: Duncan Casey, Peter McCabe, John Andress, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Dave Foley, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland, Tomás O’Leary, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton, Cian Bohane, Colm O’Shea, Stephen Fitzgerald.
Munster v Worcester Warriors, 2016 Keary's Renault Series, Friday August 26th at Irish Independent Park – KO 7pm.


  • Adults €;15
  • Juniors €;7
  • Family of 2 (1 Adult 1 Junior) €;18
  • Family of 4 (2 Adult 2 Junior) €;30

Tickets can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, by calling 061 421103, or at the ground on matchday.


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News