DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ireland Women’s Squad Named

20th December 2013 By Munster Rugby

Ireland Women’s Squad Named

Eight Munster players have been selected in the Ireland Women’s 6 Nations squad for 2014.

Eight Munster players have been selected in the Ireland Women’s 6 Nations squad for 2014.

The squad was named today with the IRFU also announcing that the first ever women's RBS 6 Nations fixture to be staged at the AVIVA stadium will take place on 8th March 2014.

The game will be part of an RBS 6 Nations Super Saturday double-header as the men and women's team take on their Italian counterparts.

The historic match in the Aviva was confirmed as an extended squad of 33 players was announced by the Ireland women's management as they prepare for their defence of their RBS 6 Nations title. The squad includes a number of seasoned internationals alongside some new faces who have emerged this season.

Munster captain Heather O’Brien has been named in the squad along with her Highfield team-mates Geraldine Rae and Laura Guest.

Four UL Bohemians players are in the squad, Niamh Briggs, Gill Bourke, Fiona Hayes and the uncapped Ashling Hutchings. Siobhán Fleming of Tralee is also named in the squad.

Kick-off times and ticketing information for the Ireland v Italy women's RBS 6 Nations fixture, which will take place after the men's game, will be announced in early 2014 after it is confirmed to rugby clubs.

Ireland open their campaign with a home fixture against Scotland on Friday, 31st January in Ashbourne RFC.

Ireland Women's Squad
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins /Ulster)
Gill Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond /Exile)
Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exile)*
Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
Kerri –Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exile)*
Amy Davis (Blackrock /Ulster)
Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's/Leinster)
Orla Fitzsimmons (St. Mary's/Leinster)*
Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)
Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
Jemma Jackson (Queens University/Ulster)*
Stacey-Lea Kennedy (Cooke/Ulster)
Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*
Vikkie Mc Ginn (Blackrock /Leinster)*
Alison Miller (Portlaoise RFC/UCC/Connacht)
Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/Exile)*
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Heather O' Brien (Highfield/Munster)
Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
Geraldine Rae (Highfield/Munster)
Marie –Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
Juliet Short (Newcastle/Exile)*
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

* Denotes uncapped player


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage

DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are now inviting applications for two part-time Women’s Rugby Participation Officers. See full details and apply below. The province is also recruiting for...