DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Schools Senior Cup Qualifier

27th November 2013 By Munster Rugby

Schools Senior Cup Qualifier

Bandon Grammar defeated old rivals Midleton College in opening qualifying round of the Munster Senior Schools Cup.

Bandon Grammar defeated old rivals Midleton College in opening qualifying round of the Munster Senior Schools Cup.

Bandon Grammar 38, Midleton 0

A six try blitz in the second half decided this contest as Bandon advanced to a meeting with Waterpark College in the next round next week.

A gritty performance by the Midleton pack as well as excellent defending in the opening half saw the sides turn around at half time scoreless.

The only chance of a score in the opening half was a penalty by Bandon out half Robert O’Sullivan after sixteen minutes but his effort went wide of the posts.

O’Sullivan, full back Bobby Smith and wingers Conor Siggins and Bryan Murphy were posing problems for the Midleton defence as in the pack Gavin Coombes and Andrew Godsil were making the hard yards.

Midleton while on the back foot defended heroically in the opening thirty five minutes. Out half Rory Walsh made some excellent clearances as did full back Julian Power, while in the pack the back row of skipper Brendan Kiy, Dylan Somers and Eoghan Daly were putting in the big hits.

The deadlock was broken seven minutes into the second half when second row Kevin Coombes barged over following a line out.

With the Bandon pack on top out half O’Sullivan was finding gaps in the Midleton defence. He sent Bobby Smith in for a second try on 47 minutes and Jack Inglis four minutes later. O’Sullivan converted both for a 19-0 lead.

O’Sullivan scored his side’s fourth try on 56 minutes when he went blind side following a scrum on the 22.

Two tries in the final ten minutes from John Kingston and Andrew Godsil completed the scoring with Smith converting both.

Bandon Grammar: Bobby Smith; Conor Siggins, Eric Donnelly, Jake Inglis, Bryan Murphy; Robert O’Sullivan, Alex Gibbons; David Jennings, John Kingston, Gary Pringle; Conor Barry, Kevin Coombes; Gavin Coombes, Andrew Godsil, Sam O’Dwyer.
Replacements: Frazer Pock, James O’Dwyer, Aonghus Siggins, Joshua Landzaad, Dylan O’Callaghan, Phylip Walters, Aidan Brown.
Midleton College: Julian Power; Odhran Bailey, Christian Lynch, Jack Ryan, Patrick O’Riordan; Rory Walsh, Cormac Phelan; Paul Kingston, Gavin Smiddy, Ross Donovan; Kieran Simpson, Sam Mitchell; Brendan Kiy, Dylan Somers, Eoghan Daly.
Replacements: Jonathan Ottman, Miseal O’Brien, Muiris Moloney, Steven Kearns, Andrew Irwin, Joe Hennigan, Jack Tierney, Peter Matthews.
Referee: Dave O’Flynn (MAR).

Munster Schools Senior Cup Qualifier
: Bandon Grammar 38, Midleton College 0;

McCarthy Cup Semi Finals: C.B.C. 20, Glenstal Abbey 14;
P.B.C. 18, Crescent College Comp. 27;

McCarthy B Cup Semi Final: C.B.C. 24, St. Munchin's 0


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Munster Rugby are now inviting applications for two part-time Women’s Rugby Participation Officers. See full details and apply below. The province is also recruiting for...