DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Club Focus: Kilfeacle & District RFC

1st November 2013 By Munster Rugby

Club Focus: Kilfeacle & District RFC

Kilfeacle and District Rugby Football Club was founded in 1981 and is located at the "Hill" also known as Morrissey Park about four miles from Tipperary Town on the Cashel/Tipperary road, in a picturesque setting looking directly onto the Galtee Mountains.

In naming the Club, it was decided to add District to the name Kilfeacle, as players came from such an array of parishes which included Oola, Solohead, Bansha, Anacarty, Lattin, Cullen, Cappawhite, Dundrum, Golden, Galbally, Tipperary and Kilfeacle.

The club has over 300 playing and non-playing members with teams ranging in age from under six to under nineteen"" which compete in East Munster competitions. Kilfeacle & District RFC fields two adult teams which sees the first XV currently competing in the first division of the Munster Junior League, Mansergh Cup and the Garryowen Cup while the seconds take part in the Gleeson League Division 2, Evans League, Webb Cup and Gleeson Cup. There are also two more provincial cup competitions which the team annually participate; Munster Junior Cup and Munster Junior Clubs Challenge Cup.

Kilfeacle and District RFC is a hive of activity every weekend from September to May. On any given night it is no surprise to have approximately 150 players training from Under 8’s to seniors, and results speak volumes of their success. “The support structure from volunteers through parents, coaches, selectors, patrons and supporters is immense and something we are very proud of” said Denis Wade, Club PRO.

“Special mention must go to all our coaches for their tireless selfless work in developing the youngsters and the talent that permeates through the different teams that wear the Blue for the Little Club on the Hill!”

With many successes over the years Kilfeacle and District has at some stage won every competition that it has entered at least once and is delighted with its long list of accomplishments including the coveted Munster Junior Cup which they claimed in 2002. The club has also been in the top division of the Munster Junior league every year since its inception. This consistency is even the more impressive considering the position and role of small clubs such as Kilfeacle and District within the current landscape of modern day professional rugby in Ireland.

"Small clubs such as Kilfeacle and District have to contend with being a feeder club, staging area and stepping stone for talented players making their way up and down to and from senior clubs and hopefully the heady heights of professional rugby” said Wade.

“One of Kilfeacle and District’s proudest achievements is to still be able to compete at its current level despite the challenges of player retention in today’s climate with every player that shows promise or skill being courted by numerous clubs at higher levels”.

Commenting on the club’s success Wade said the secret is credited to the loyalty shown by players and supporters alike down through the years. “Fortunately in Kilfeacle and District what we may lack financially and materialistically is more than made up for in loyalty. Loyalty shown by the players to the club, club to the players, coaches to the club, parents and supporters to the club……..the list is goes on. Everyone associated with Kilfeacle from Chairperson to tea lady, from first team captain to under six sub are loyal supporters of Kilfeacle and District RFC and would follow them to the ends of the earth and even further to support the ‘Boys in Blue’.”

“As a club we are now 33 years young. We are still a small club but in many ways that is our greatest asset. We are a community based club and a tightly knit family. It is this sense of family and community, sense of belonging, sense of being an integral part of something, sense of loyalty that has kept this club in existence in the past and hopefully in the future.”

Officers – 1981\82 (Club Formation)

President: Fr. Lavell
Chairman: John Cooney
Hon Secretary: John Heney
Treasurer: Tom Cross
Fixtures Secretary: Billy Godfrey
PRO: Jimmy Sharkey

Officers – 2013 \ 14 (Current Officers)

President: Tony Lowry
Chairman: Danny Hallissey
Hon Secretary: Michelle Noonan
Treasurer: Norrie O’Sullivan
Fixtures Secretary: Curry Hanley
PRO: Denis Wade


Kilfeacle & District minis in training


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Tadhg Beirne's try for Munster away to Toulouse in January has been named as the Champions Cup's Try of the Season for 2022/23. It was...