DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Jack Wakefield Memorial Trophy Up For Grabs

30th August 2013 By Munster Rugby

Jack Wakefield Memorial Trophy Up For Grabs

In tonight’s SEAT Series clash in Musgrave Park Munster and London Irish will compete for the Jack Wakefield Memorial Trophy for the fifth time.

The trophy originated as a result of the desire of supporters in England and Ireland to create a lasting and appropriate memorial to a remarkable boy.

Jack Wakefield was the son of Nikki and Gordon Wakefield, London Irish supporters from Newport on the Isle of Wight. Early in his short life Jack was diagnosed with a brain tumour. Despite the demands of the medication and treatment that he had to undergo, he maintained a happy disposition and regularly attended London Irish games when he was well enough.

Jack died on 21st June 2005 aged three. His inspirational struggle touched rugby fans across the world thanks to the publicity his story generated on the message board of the London Irish Supporters Club and through clubs across the world, including the Munster Rugby Supporters Club.

In donating the memorial trophy, the supporters requested that it be contested every time that London Irish played an Irish province in a friendly match. The trophy was first competed for on 25th August 2006 at Donnybrook, Dublin when London Irish played Leinster in a pre-season friendly. Irish won by 25-10 and thus became the first holders of the trophy.

Munster then maintained a hold on the trophy after winning it for the first time in August 2008 up until last year when London Irish relaimed the cup after a 34-10 victory over Munster in Musgrave Park.

London Irish have named their side for tonight's encounter with Tomás O'Leary and Ian Humphreys the starting half-backs, and second row George Skivington named as Captain.

London Irish: Topsy Ojo; Marland Yarde; Guy Armitage; Eamonn Sheridan; Andrew Fenby; Ian Humphreys; Tomás O’Leary; Leo Halavatau; David Paice; Halani Aulika; George Skivington Capt.

Replacements from: Jimmy Stevens; Jonny Harris; Jamie Hagan; Jebb Sinclair; Nic Rouse; Declan Danaher; Gerard Ellis; Chris Hala’ufia; Patrick Phibbs; Shane Geraghty; Sailosi Tagicakibau; Ian Cross; Alex Lewington; Myles Dorrian


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Take a look at the stats from the 2023/24 season which saw the Munster's Women's squad reach the Interpro final and the men's squad reach...