DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Nenagh Beat Dolphin In Senior Plate Final

23rd December 2012 By jess

Nenagh Beat Dolphin In Senior Plate Final

Nenagh Ormond caused a big shock when defeating Dolphin in the final of the ODM Cyril Fitzgerald Plate Final

Dolphin 7, Nenagh Ormond 29
This game fixed for Musgrave Park had to be transferred to the Mahon pitch after both the main and back pitches in Musgrave Park were declared unplayable. Prior to the kick off two underage games had gone ahead on the pitch and this shows what an asset this ground is to Munster Rugby to have these grounds.

Nenagh despite playing in the bottom tier of the Ulster League were up for this contest against a side plying their trade in the top tier.

Nenagh played with the advantage of the elements in the opening half and all the damage was done towards the end of the first quarter.

Dolphin’s second row John Madigan was shown a yellow card on fourteen minutes and the Tipperary side took full advantage when skipper Shane O’Callaghan barged over for a try and Dan Fogarty convert.

From the restart Nenagh were awarded a scrum on the half way line when Dolphin failed to kick the ball ten metres. A break by Lemeki Viapula, who linked up with Ger Harmse and he sent winger Sam Nash in for a try under the posts and Fogarty converted.

Again another poor restart by Dolphin was punished when prop Jamie Quigley got in for a third try and Fogarty converted to leave it 21-0 with twenty minutes played.

Fogarty added a penalty eight minutes before the break to leave the score 24-0 at half time.

It was Nenagh who struck first playing into the elements when replacement prop John Hayes burst through the Dolphin defence to touchdown for the Tipperary side’s fourth try after forty eight minutes.

Dolphin introduced Barry Keeshan on sixty minutes and this saw the Musgrave Park take control of the game but their only reward was a try by Harry Fleming which Keeshan converted.

Scorers Dolphin: Harry Fleming try, Barry Keeshan con.
Nenagh Ormond: Shane O'Callaghan, Sam Nash, Jamie Quigley, John Hayes tries, Dan Fogarty 3 cons, pen
Dolphin: Niall Walley; James Kiernan, Eamon Mills, Harry Fleming, Chris Nolan; Rory Scannell, Chris Bannon; John Leahy, John Clery, Dave Hartnett; John Madigan, David O’Mahony; Jamie Kind, James Vaughan, Miah Cronin.
Replacements: Will Foley, Richard Martin, Ryan Callaghan, Brian O’Callaghan, Barry Keeshan, Chris Hartnett, Fionn Cronin.
Nenagh Ormond: Steve Carey; Sam Nash, Derek Corcoran, Ger Harmse, Dave Corcoran; Dan Fogarty, Michael Fogarty; Jamie Quigley, Peter O’Connor, Fergal Brislane; Shane O’Callaghan; Kevin O’Flaherty; Lemeki Viapula, Rory O’Brien, Mike Slattery.
Replacements: Damian Dunne, John Hayes, Kevin Seymour, Bryan Williams, Rory Whelan, Andrew Mackey, Aidan O’Dwyer.
Referee: Jude Quinn (MAR).


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

Nine players will join the Munster Rugby senior squad this summer with four new additions and five players stepping up from the Academy. Thaakir Abrahams,...