DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Horan Late Withdrawal

31st August 2012 By jess

Horan Late Withdrawal

Munster flew into Edinburgh this afternoon ahead of their opening RaboDirect PRO12 encounter (Saturday, Murrayfield 8pm) without veteran Marcus Horan who was withdrawn with a back injury.

Horan, who suffered the setback in training in Cork yesterday, is expected to be back in contention for a place in the squad for the visit of Bennetton Treviso next weekend.

His place on the bench for tomorrow's game goes to Dave Kilcoyne.

Munster: D Hurley; D Howlett capt, C Laulala, J Downey, L O’Dea; I Keatley, D Williams; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O’Callaghan, B Holland; P Butler, S Dougall, J Coughlan. Replacements: M Sherry, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D Foley, B O’Mahony, P Stringer, S Deasy, I Dineen.

Meanwhile, Edinburgh coach Michael Bradley has issued a clear statement of intent with a selection that sees nine players from the successful Scotland tour of Australasia return to competitive action.

Captain Greig Laidlaw; centre, Nick De Luca; and top try-scorer Tim Visser are named in the backline while Ross Ford, and back-row trio Ross Rennie, David Denton and Stuart McInally are all included up-front with props Allan Jacobsen and Geoff Cross named among the replacements.

And Bradley makes no bones about his expectations from tomorrow's match. “We want to make a statement of intent in the RaboDirect PRO12, as a team and as a club, and want to kick that off with a win at home and give our fans something to shout about.

“We have virtually all of our players available for selection and have completed a strong summer of pre-season training, with the time to perform when it matters now upon us."

Edinburgh Rugby. Greig Tonks; Lee Jones, Nick De Luca, Ben Atiga, Tim Visser; Greig Laidlaw capt, Richie Rees; John Yapp, Ross Ford, Willem Nel; Grant Gilchrist, Sean Cox; David Denton, Ross Rennie, Stuart McInally. Replacements: Andy Titterrell, Allan Jacobsen, Geoff Cross, Perry Parker, Dimitri Basilaia, Chris Leck, Gregor Hunter, John Houston


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU