DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Scannell To Captain Ireland U20

3rd June 2012 By jess

Scannell To Captain Ireland U20

Munster hooker Niall Scannell will captain the Ireland U20 side for the opening 2012 Junior World Championship game against host country South Africa in Danie Craven Stadium tomorrow, ko 5.45 pm.

After skippering his country at Ireland Schools level, Scannell is joined in the starting line-up by UL Bohemians out-half JJ Hanrahan, who is also the team's vice-captain. Completing the Munster contingent is Academy hooker James Rael from Garryowen.

Scannell, who has been a prominent figure in Dolphin's AIL campaigns over the last couple of seasons, anticipates a very physical and exciting game.

"It is going to be a huge challenge for us, playing the hosts on their own soil, but we are confident going in as we have prepared very well after a solid Six Nations, and we are in a good place to cause an upset."

"I feel we have a strong squad and can provide a good mix in our game, and if we execute correctly, we will go well," added Niall.

Hanrahan is one of five players in the match day squad who featured in the 2011 Junior World Championship including his halfback partner Kieran Marmion who also played in the tournament.

Prop Tadgh Furlong and second row Iain Henderson are the two forwards with previous experience in the tournament while replacement Aaron Conneely also featured last year.

Shane Layden and Paddy Jackson, who were named in the original squad have been replaced by Conor Finn and Jack Carty with Carty included in the replacements for tomorrow.

The Ireland games will be shown live on Sky Sports and TG4.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements

15. Peter Nelson (Dungannon/Ulster)
14. Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
13. Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
12. Chris Farrell (Dungannon/Ulster)
11. Sam Coghlan Murray (UCD/Leinster)
10. JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster) * Vice Captain
9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)*
1. Des Merrey (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) Captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) *
4. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Iain Henderson (Queen's University/Ulster) *
6. Jordon Coghlan (UCD/Leinster)
7. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
8. Conor Gilsenan (UCD/Mullingar/Leinster)


16. James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
17. Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Jake Cawley (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Alan O'Connor (UCD/Leinster)
20. Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht) *
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
22. Jake Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Mikey Sherlock (Clontarf/Leinster)

* Denotes uncapped players


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News