DFP Header Area

Share this MunsterRugby.ie page

Ryan and O’Driscoll Start For Irish Wolfhounds.

2nd February 2011 By Munster Rugby

Ryan and O’Driscoll Start For Irish Wolfhounds.

The Ireland Wolfhounds side to take on the the England Saxons on Friday night in Ravenhill has been named.

As with the senior side it is an all Munster second row partnership with Donnacha Ryan and Mick O'Driscoll named in the starting pack. Ian Nagle moves to the replacements while Damien Varley, Denis Hurley and Johne Murphy remained unchanged.

Talking about the game, O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Coach Eric Elwood said, “I think there was some good things we can take out of the last game, but this week sees another step up for the players in terms of opposition and while some of the guys have moved onto the senior team which is great to see, we have some quality experience coming back into the team with Micko (O’Driscoll) and Donnacha (Ryan) giving us some great grunt in the forwards, which will be really important this Friday.”

“I want the players who were involved last week to learn from the game where in the first half we really bossed the contact area. If we can do that and be accurate in the set piece, we have enough talent in the side to cause any side real problems at this level, but we will have to improve to match a good Saxons team. Playing at home is a great plus for us and hopefully we will have a big Ravenhill crowd to make it a good atmosphere to help give those home supporters a good performance and a win.”

O2 Ireland Wolfhounds team:
15 – David Kearney (Lansdowne – Leinster)
14 – Johne Murphy (Young Munster – Munster)
13 – Eoin O'Malley (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
12 – Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch – Ulster)
11 – Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution – Munster)
10 – Ian Humphreys (Ballymena – Ulster)
9 – Isaac Boss (Terenure College – Leinster)
1 – Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians – Connacht)
2 – Damien Varley (Garryowen – Munster)
3 – Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon – Ulster)
4 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon – Munster)
5 – Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster)
6 – Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers – Connacht)
7 – Willie Faloon (Ballynahinch – Ulster)
8 – Chris Henry (Ballymena – Ulster) Captain

16 – Nigel Brady (Dungannon – Ulster)
17 – Jamie Hagan (Corinthians – Connacht)
18 – Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution – Munster)
19 – Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne – Leinster)
20 – Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
21 – Ian Keatley (Galwegians- Connacht)
22 – Fionn Carr (Galwegians- Connacht)


DFP – Right Column – HalfPage


DFP – Right Column – MPU

Related News

The Munster team has been named for our URC semi-final against Glasgow Warriors at Thomond Park on Saturday (6pm). Over 18,500 tickets have already been...